A total of 19 teams, comprised of 95 contestants, representing colleges and universities from across the United States, competed for top honors in the 100th annual American Royal Livestock Judging Contest, held in Kansas City, MO.

Student teams competed in the judging of beef cattle, sheep and swine, at the American Royal, as well as the presentation of oral reasons for their placings. Winners were announced at the 55th annual awards breakfast, sponsored by the Belles of the American Royal (BOTAR), at the Marriott Downtown Hotel, in Kansas City, MO.

Top team honors overall were awarded to Michigan State University for their combined score of 4,624 points, out of a possible 5,000.

Second place overall honors went to Oklahoma State University, with a collective score of 4,583 points. Students on the team were Brian McEntire, Lindsay; Chad Carr, Bethpage, TN; A.J. Ebert, Auburn, AL; Toby Wood, Hennessey; and Jason Duggin, Manchester, TX. The team was coached by Mark Johnson.

The team from California Polytechnic State University earned third place overall, with a score of 4,580.

Texas Tech University walked away with a fourth place finish overall, scoring 4,576 points. Clay Elliott coached the team, which included Josh Lesky, Durango, CO; Darick Chabot, Riverton, WY; Nonnie James, Pampa; Amy Caviness, Causey, NM; and Andy Hart, Levelland.

The team from Kansas State University, which was coached by Scott Schaake, placed fifth overall, with a total score of 4,546. Team members included: Shane Tiffany, Council Grove; David Peine, Greeley; Nathan Martin, Ford; Matt Spangler, Walton; and Clayton LeCompte, Tucumcarie, NM.

The top 10 high-scoring individuals overall in the contest also were recognized for their accomplishments. They included: Brent Titus, Charleston, IL, first; Jason Bihl, Bloomingburg, OH, second; Blaine Rodgers, Atascadero, CA, third; Andy Abrameit, Goliad, TX, fourth; Amy Caviness, Causey, NM, fifth; Megan Wheaton, Charlotte, MI, sixth; Kristy Baird, San Luis Obispo, CA, seventh; Chad Carr, Bethpage, TN, eighth; Cody Lowderman, Macomb, IL, ninth; and Collin Osbourn, Valley Spring, TX, 10th.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.