Quenemo sorghum grower Jeff Casten was recently elected chairman of the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission. Casten represents sorghum growers in the East-Central grower district. He fills the position previously held by John Ratzlaff of Moundridge.

The commission elected Greg Graff as vice president. Graff farms near Marienthal and represents growers in the west-central grower district. Seneca sorghum grower Stanley Schmitz was elected secretary-treasurer. Schmitz represents growers in the northeast grower district.

The Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission is made up of nine grower members from the state's nine commission districts. The commission is responsible for allocating the half-cent per bushel sorghum checkoff in the areas of research, market development, promotion and education.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.