Almost 600 youngsters participated in the 12th annual Oklahoma Farm Bureau-sponsored Oklahoma State Fair Livestock Judging Contest Sept. 28 in Oklahoma City.

The contest gave youngsters the opportunity to test their judging skills on cattle, swine and sheep while competing for $2,000 worth of prizes plus plaques and ribbons.

Results in the 4-H division follow:

--Senior 4-H Teams (14 years and older): First place, McCurtain County, Valliant 4-H, Courtney Coffman, Jake Mullens, Sabrina Meeks and Chelsea Coffman; Second place, Kay County, Gayle Buellsefeld, Salye Bersman, Justin McMurtrie and Ross Kubik; and Third place, Washita County, Canute 4-H, Kylie Kupksa, Caittyn Goss, Nathan Merz and Cade Adams.

--Senior 4-H Individuals (14 years and older): First place, Nathan Merz, Washita County, Canute 4-H; Second place, Brent Womack, Caddo County, Hinton 4-H; and Third place, Courtney Coffman, McCurtain County, Valliant 4-H.

--Junior 4-H Teams (13 years and younger): First place, McClain County, Newcastle 4-H, Colton Wynne, Levi Moyers, Brady Ward and Cheyenne Allen; Second place, Kingfisher County, Kingfisher 4-H, Kenzie Clifton, Kari Wendt, Chelsea Clifton and Darin Annuschat; and Third place, Woodward County, Mooreland Jr. 4-H, Betty Sowell, Brooke M., Courtney Hargis, and Jennifer Sharp.

--Junior 4-H Individuals (13 years and younger): First place, Colton Wynne, McClain County, Newcastle 4-H; Second place, Brody Ward, McClain County, Newcastle 4-H; and Third place, Chelsea Clifton, Kingfisher County, Kingfisher 4-H.

--Senior FFA Teams (Members in 11th and 12th grades): First place, Minco FFA Chapter, Adam Locke, Matt Sandidge, Chaste Brassfield and Logan Ford; Second place, Elgin FFA Chapter, Ginger Peausen, Cassidy Pillow and Chase Turner; and Third place, Elgin FFA Chapter, Clayton Smith, Catie Sims, Chelsey Seibold and Cody Melton.

--Senior FFA Individuals (Members in 11th and 12 grades): First place, Chase Brassfield, Minco FFA Chapter; Second place, Catie Sims, Elgin FFA Chapter; and Third place, Brent Sadler, Perkins-Tryon FFA Chapter.

--Junior FFA Teams (8th through 10th grades): First place, Tuttle FFA Chapter, Luke Eaton, Hannah Gregory, Erin Way and Jeremy Campbell; Second place, Tecumseh FFA Chapter, Dodge Nichols, Mallory Jones, Stormi Topping and Nick Pope; and Third place, Purcell FFA Chapter, Jeremy Jackson, Randon Hammond, Terence Doty and Caleb Hanan.

--Junior FFA Individuals (8th through 10th grades): First place, Randall Parman, Reydon FFA Chapter; Second place, Skylar York, Maysville FFA Chapter; and Third place, Erin Way, Tuttle FFA Chapter.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.