WASHINGTON, DC--The National Farmers Union (NFU) has presented its highest award for government service, the Golden Triangle Award, to 14 members of Congress who have demonstrated outstanding leadership on issues affecting family farmers and ranchers.

"Golden Triangle honorees stand out for their unwavering commitment to improving the quality of life for farmers, ranchers and rural communities," said NFU President Leland Swenson. "These lawmakers are the most vocal leaders on a broad scope of issues that impact family farm agriculture. They have been key allies-and advocates-in the effort to respond to the farm crisis and on wealth of other legislation. We thank them for their exemplary leadership."

Recipients this year were chosen for their leadership on a variety of issues, including emergency farm assistance, trade and concentration in the agricultural industry, among others.

The following lawmakers have been named 2000 recipients of the Golden Triangle Award:

--U.S. Senator Kent Conrad, North Dakota; Emergency Assistance/Crop Insurance Reform

--U.S. Senator Tom Daschle, South Dakota; Emergency Assistance/Concentration

--U.S. Senator Byron Dorgan, North Dakota; Emergency Assistance/Agriculture Appropriations

--U.S. Senator Tom Harkin, Iowa; Emergency Assistance/Conservation

--U.S. Senator Tim Johnson, South Dakota; Emergency Assistance/Country of Origin Labeling

--U.S. Senator Robert Kerrey, Nebraska; Emergency Assistance/Crop Insurance Reform

--U.S. Senator Herb Kohl, Wisconsin; Emergency Assistance/Agriculture Appropriations

--U.S. Senator Paul Wellstone, Minnesota; Rally for Rural America/Concentration

--U.S. Representative Collin Peterson, Minnesota; Rally for Rural America/ Conservation

--U.S. Representative Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri; Rural Caucus

--U.S. Representative Eva Clayton, North Carolina; Rural Caucus/Trade Issues

--U.S. Representative Earl Pomeroy, North Dakota; Crop Insurance Reform/Emergency Assistance

--U.S. Representative Marcy Kaptur, Ohio; Agriculture Appropriations/Emergency Assistance

--U.S. Representative Dave Obey, Wisconsin; Agriculture Appropriations/Emergency Assistance

The Golden Triangle Award is based on NFU' s symbol--a triangle with "legislation" and "cooperation" forming the sides and "education" the base.

The Golden Triangle Award is awarded annually and was first established in 1988.

NFU' s board of directors presented honorees with their awards at a special Capitol Hill event.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.