Kansas Association of wheat Growers members added their applause to that being heard from wheat growers around the nation as both Kansas U.S. senators and two Kansas U.S. representatives are honored for their support of the nations wheat growers.

Sen. Sam Brownback, Sen. Pat Roberts, U.S. Rep. Jerry Moran, and U.S. Rep. Jim Ryun were singled out for their 100% voting record for issues critical to the national and Kansas wheat industries.

NAWG President Jim Stonebrink an Oregon wheat farmer, said the Kansas four are real friends to rural America and wheat farmers nationwide.

Brett Myers, executive vice president of the Kansas Association of wheat Growers, said, "The KAWG is extremely proud these four Kansans are included among those honored for their wheat industry support."

Votes on a wide variety of issues were considered in making the selections, including the Senate votes on the budget resolution, trade relations with China, the Ashcroft amendment to exempt food from sanctions, passage of the emergency assistance package, passage of the 1999 tax cut bill and passage of the ag appropriations bill. The House votes considered all of the same legislation, except for the Ashcroft amendment, plus passage of an extension in farm bankruptcy law, support for MAP and support for crop insurance reform.

The Kansas Association of wheat Growers represents nearly 3,000 members, who have joined forces under the common goal of maximizing members' profitability.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.