Fairview FFA Chapter members have been very busy at the State FFA Public Speaking Contest, in Stillwater, and the State FFA Convention, held in Oklahoma City.

The State FFA Convention is the highlight of the year for FFA members, because it is a time for outstanding members to be recognized and new state FFA officers to be selected. Along with the many awards presented, FFA members also have the opportunity to listen to outstanding motivational speakers from across the nation and attend workshops led by past state officers as well as national officers.

The Fairview FFA Chapter had many students recognized throughout the convention. Every year, the Oklahoma FFA Association selects members from across the state to sing at the convention. The Fairview FFA Chapter had three of its 93 members selected. Those members were John Shelly, Miranda Cansler and Luann Ulrich.

One of the most coveted awards in the FFA is the State FFA Degree. To be eligible to receive this award, FFA members must have $1,000 invested and $1,000 earned in agriculture. They also must have submitted a scrapbook and received a fair rating or better. And finally, FFA members must show continued leadership in their chapter and their community. The Fairview FFA Chapter had six of the 670 present and past members selected. Those members are Jared Boehs, Dusty Burchfield, Nicole Davis, Darinda Frech, Luann Ulrich, and Kevin Wahl.

In the Proficiency award area, the Fairview FFA Chapter had three recipients. Drew Elwell received third place in the Diversified Livestock Production Placement Division. Kendra Brashears won first place in the State Secretary's Contest. Katresa Brashears won first place in the State Reporter's Book Contest.

Every year, the Oklahoma FFA Association recognizes people from across the state who have contributed to the local and state FFA programs by giving them the Honorary State FFA Degree. These people are individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help young people further their career through agriculture. This year, the Fairview FFA Chapter nominated and the Oklahoma FFA Association selected David Frech to receive this prestigious award.

A chapter's goal is to always promote agriculture throughout the community and the state. Every year, the FFA honors the top 10 chapters that do many different activities for young people and for adults to teach them about agriculture by giving them the National Chapter Award. FFA chapters fill out an application to be selected for this award. The Fairview FFA Chapter received the National Chapter Award and was selected second high over all of the state.

The Public Speaking Contest was held in Stillwater. The junior parliamentary procedure team won first place, after beating the top two teams from every district. Members of the team are Katresa Brashears, Kendra Brashears, Kelcie Briggs, Miranda Cansler, Jason Ewing, Ricky Ranking, Ryan Sproul and Ti Veach. Dusty Burchfield also placed first and went on to receive second place high individual overall. Miranda Cansler placed sixth.

The final activity of the State FFA Convention was to select the new 2000-01 state FFA officers. This year for the first time, candidates for offices had to go through an interviewing process before state convention. This interviewing process narrowed the competition down to the most qualified three candidates. Dusty Burchfield passed the interviewing process and was selected as the new 2000-01 state FFA secretary.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.