Secretary of Agriculture Dan Glickman has named 14 counties in Texas as eligible for Farm Service Agency emergency farm loans.

Young County was named as a primary disaster area Aug. 7 due to losses caused by a tornado and hail that occurred April 30. Also eligible, because they are contiguous, are Archer, Baylor, Jack, Palo Pinto, Stephens and Throckmorton Counties.

Midland County was named as a primary disaster area Aug. 7 due to losses caused by drought that occurred from Jan. 1, 1999, through May 31, 2000. Also eligible, because they are contiguous, are Andrews, Ector, Glasscock, Martin, Reagan, and Upton Counties.

These designations makes all qualified family--sized farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible for low--interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of this declaration to apply for the loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, repayment ability, and other eligibility requirements.

FSA has a variety of programs available, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity. Interested farmers may contact their local FSA offices for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures.

Additional information is also available online at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov/pas/disaster/assistance1.htm.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.