Doug Boisen, Minden, has been re-elected to serve as chairman of the Nebraska Corn Board for the 2001-2002 term.

Boisen raises corn and soybeans on his south central Nebraska farm. He also serves on the Executive Committee of the United States Grain Council.

Bernie Heier, Walton, was re-elected as the vice chairman. Heier also raises corn and soybeans and serves as a director of the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA). The NCGA represents over 30,000 corn farmers across the Corn Belt.

Lee Klein was named to his second term as secretary-treasurer. Klein, from Battle Creek, raises corn, soybeans, rye and alfalfa on his northeast Nebraska farm. Klein served as the president of the National Corn Growers Association for the 2000-2001 term.

The elections were held during the board's August meeting, in Lincoln.

The Nebraska Corn Board administers the state's corn checkoff program. Corn checkoff dollars are invested into programs of market development, research and education.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.