American Agri-Women elected a new president and two executive officers during its annual convention, in Sparks, NV.

Taking the helm of the organization is Kathy Reavis, McAllen, TX, a long-time member of AAW. Reavis has served AAW for many years, most recently as its first vice president for the past two years.

"I am very proud and honored to serve this organization as its president," said Reavis, who was elected during the closing reception. "American agriculture has lost neither its significance or importance in our country, and I am proud to advocate on behalf of this vital industry."

Reavis and her family farm a variety of seed and vegetable crops, in McAllen, which is near the U.S.-Mexico border. She also has served with AAW affiliate member Texas Agri-Women, including president for that organization.

"American Agri-Women, is in very good hands," said Alice Dettwyler, Salem, OR, who ended her two-year presidency. "I have worked with Reavis for many years, and she is more than capable of leading this organization into the future."

Carol Marx, Rickreall, OR, was elected to serve as first vice president. In that role, Marx will assist Reavis with the ongoing operations of AAW, as well as prepare for the presidency in two years. Marx farms grass seed and is a member of Oregon Women for Agriculture. She previously served AAW as its secretary and chairman of the LEAVEN Award Committee.

Karen Yost, Billings, MT, was elected to serve as second vice president of communications. A former teacher, Yost started "The Family Farm," a home-based business where she provided a petting zoo, pony rides, hay rides and birthday parties for children. Yost has served AAW on several committees and was the president of Montana Agri-Women. She works for Nutra-Lix, a liquid feed manufacturing facility, which is co-owned by her husband.

Carolyn Kleiber, Hillsboro, KS, was elected to serve a second term as AAW treasurer. Kleiber and her husband own a fertilizer ad chemical dealership, plus rent out 360 acres of cultivated farmland. Kleiber has held leadership positions in AAW and Kansas Agri-Women. She also is active in professional, community and church organizations.

The newly elected officers are joined by Third Vice President of Education Yvonne Erickson, Battle Lake, MN, and Secretary Sally Coady, Winlock, WA. Dettwyler will continue to serve the AAW Executive Committee as past president.

AAW is a grassroots, all volunteer organization--the oldest farm women's organization in the country.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.