Kansas FFA Association

Proficiency Award Areas

    • 1. Agricultural Communications
      2. Agricultural Education
      3. Agricultural Mechanics Energy Systems
      4. Agricultural Mechanics Fabrication and Design
      5. Agricultural Mechanics Repair and Maintenance - Entrepreneurship
      6. Agricultural Mechanics Repair and Maintenance - Placement
      7. Agricultural Processing
      8. Agricultural Sales - Entrepreneurship
      9. Agricultural Sales Placement
      10. Agricultural Services
      11. Agriscience Research - Animals Systems
      12. Agriscience Research - Integrated Systems
      13. Agriscience Research - Plant Systems
      14. Beef Production - Entrepreneurship
      15. Beef Production - Placement
      16. Dairy Production - Entrepreneurship
      17. Dairy Production - Placement
      18. Diversified Agriculture Production
      19. Diversified Crop - Entrepreneurship
      20. Diversified Crop - Placement
      21. Diversified Horticulture
      22. Diversified Livestock Production
      23. Emerging Agricultural Technology
      24. Environmental Science and Natural Resources Management
      25. Equine Science - Entrepreneurship
      26. Equine Science - Placement
      27. Fiber and/or Oil Crop Production
      28. Food Science and Technology
      29. Forage Production
      30. Forest Management
      31. Fruit Production
      32. Goat Production
      33. Grain Production - Entrepreneurship
      34. Grain Production - Placement
      35. Home and/or Community Development
      36. Landscape Management
      37. Nursery Operations
      38. Outdoor Recreation
      39. Poultry Production
      40. Sheep Production
      41. Small Animal Production and Care
      42. Specialty Animal Production
      43. Specialty Crop Production
      44. Swine Production - Entrepreneurship
      45. Swine Production - Placement
      46. Turf Grass Management
      47. Vegetable Production
      48. Veterinary Science
      49. Wildlife Management

    To view a description of these areas please visit the National FFA Descriptions.

Proficiency Awards

The Agricultural Proficiency Awards program is similar to the FFA motto in that it helps you set goals and learn practical skills. The program rewards FFA members, such as yourself, at the local, state and national levels for exceptional accomplishments and excellence in a Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) program.

Your reasons for submitting a proficiency award application may vary: to compete against others, to achieve a sense of satisfaction, to reach a goal or maybe just to have fun!

Two Award Applications

There are two types of proficiency award applications. The first type is called "placement." It is for work or experience-only (paid or unpaid) SAE programs, such as directed lab, improvement and research/experimentation experiences. Examples include working at a nursery, grooming at a horse stable, developing a research program involving wildlife or volunteering at a local park. The other proficiency award application is called "entrepreneurship." It is for SAE programs that involve ownership of an agricultural production or an agribusiness enterprise. An easy way to differentiate between the two categories is to determine if the SAE program involves ownership. A student who works for a wage as an employee at a feed store has a "placement" program; whereas, a student who grows feed grain and assumes all risk on the investment of that crop has an "entrepreneurship" program.

Your agriculture instructor can assist you in determining which application best suits your SAE program.

SAE Programs

SAE programs form the basis of proficiency and degree award programs. They are planned, practical activities conducted outside of class time that help students develop and apply agricultural knowledge and skills learned inside the classroom. These activities can include entrepreneurship, placement (paid or unpaid) or research/experimentation.

Developing an SAE into a successful program takes time and planning. SAE programs also involve goal setting because they take time to grow and develop.

Who Can Apply?

Agricultural proficiency awards are available to all FFA members enrolled in high school agriculture, including special needs students.

Individually, you can apply for specific proficiency areas while you are in or after you are out of high school, as long as you have been out for no more than one year. If you have graduated from high school, you must have completed at least three full years of instruction in agricultural education or the program of agricultural education offered in the school last attended. At the minimum, you must have kept one full calendar year's worth of records as an FFA member to apply for a national level proficiency award. Realistically, you are more competitive at the national level with more years of records. Some states have specific requirements; your state FFA advisors can provide more information.

Proficiency applicants do not need to live on a farm or ranch to participate in the awards program. The agricultural industry needs qualified employees in over 250 career areas, including processing, sales and service, conservation, forest management, horticulture, landscaping, nursery operation, turf management and floriculture.