Kansas FFA Association

National FFA Organization Announces Finalists for American Star Awards

The National FFA Organization has selected 16 finalists (four per award) for the organization’s top awards: American Star in Agriscience, American Star in Agricultural Placement, American Star Farmer and American Star in Agribusiness. These star awards recognize students who have developed outstanding agricultural skill and competency through their career development programs, demonstrated outstanding management skills, earned the American FFA Degree—the organization’s highest level of accomplishment—and met other agricultural education, scholarship and leadership requirements. Each star finalist receives $1,000 from the National FFA Foundation and earns the opportunity to participate in an international experience tour to Costa Rica. A panel of judges will interview the finalists and select one winner for each award at the 2004 National FFA Convention, October 27–30, in Louisville, Ky. Winners will receive an additional $1,000 award. The American FFA Degree recognition programs and tours to Costa Rica are co-sponsored by Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. of Des Moines, Iowa; BASF of Research Triangle Park, N.C.; Case IH of Lake Forest, Illinois; and The Farm Credit System of Washington, D.C., as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. “Stars Over America,” a special audiovisual presentation featuring the star award winners, is produced by USDA Farm Services Agency as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. Star Farmer
Lynn Renae Rohrscheib – Jamaica FFA – Illinois
Shanna M. Krull – Wawasee FFA – Indiana
Justin S. Ohlde – Linn FFA – Kansas
William A. Erdenberger – River Ridge FFA - Wisconsin Star in Agribusiness
Brad Cook – Eaton FFA – Colorado
Kenton Abrams – Oldham County FFA – Kentucky
Jana LeAnn Thies – Glasgow FFA – Missouri
Travis Vine – Neillsville FFA - Wisconsin Star in Agricultural Placement
Weston Michael – Chino Valley FFA – Arizona
Miles Kuschel – Sebeka FFA – Minnesota
Mark Thiel – Rugby FFA – North Dakota
Jacob Smith – Warren County FFA - Tennessee Star in Agriscience
Christopher Nelson – West Central FFA – Iowa
Patrick Jeremy Glaspie – Springport FFA – Michigan
Yarimar Lebron Lopez – S. U. Manuel Mendia-Moret FFA – Puerto Rico
Dana Tackes – Stratford FFA - Wisconsin

More Stories

Five students Qualify to participate in the National FFA Agriscience Fair

14 Kansas FFA Members named National Proficiency Finalists

2014 National FFA National Chapter Award Results Annouonced

KAAE Educators Receive Awards at CTE Summer Conference

Reminder- FFA Hunger Heroes Challenge

Husker Harvest Days Food Drive


Governor Brownback Declares June is Kansas Dairy Month

All News Stories