Kansas FFA Association

KAAE Educators Receive Awards at CTE Summer Conference

Educators from across Kansas were honored by the Kansas Association for Career and Technical Education (K-ACTE) during an awards ceremony that took place at the CTE Summer Conference of the K-ACTE on Monday, July 28, 2014 at 9:00 a.m. in Manhattan, Kan.

The K-ACTE Awards promote excellence in career and technical education. K-ACTE recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to CTE, programs that exemplify the highest standards, and organizations that have conducted activities to promote and expand CTE programs. Award winners serve as inspirational leaders to ACTE: they embody the core values of serving their students and being committed to CTE. Award candidates are evaluated based on accomplishments and innovations that exhibit the quality of the candidate for the award and contributions to the CTE community, which could include activities within their institutions, communities, Association for Career & Technical Education (ACTE), K-ACTE, and other organizations.

The 2014 K-ACTE winners who are members of the Kanas Agricultural Educators Association are as follows:

Teacher of the Year – State: Kelly Hoelting, Agricultural Education Instructor, Mission Valley USD #330

New Teacher of the Year – State: Jacqueline Gabbert, Agricultural EducationInstructor, USD 364 Marysville

Carl Perkins Outstanding Service Award – State: Larry Lyder, Past: Agricultural Education Instructor, Hill City Jr/Sr High & Current: Intermediate Principal, Hugoton Elementary

Lifetime Achievement Award – State: Joanelle Lucas, Vocational Coordinator, Newton Public Schools

All awards are administered by the Association’s Awards Committee, and all categories don’t have to be awarded each year. State winners, with the exception of Kansas only awards, are eligible to proceed to the regional competition in 2015 and regional winners proceed to national competitions in 2016. Kansas only awards include: Young Teacher of the Year, Award of Merit, and Policymaker of the Year.

Biographical information about specific winners is available at www.k-acte.org/awards2014.

Congratulations to all our winners!

More Stories

Five students Qualify to participate in the National FFA Agriscience Fair

14 Kansas FFA Members named National Proficiency Finalists

2014 National FFA National Chapter Award Results Annouonced

KAAE Educators Receive Awards at CTE Summer Conference

Reminder- FFA Hunger Heroes Challenge

Husker Harvest Days Food Drive


Governor Brownback Declares June is Kansas Dairy Month

All News Stories