Malatya Haber Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame announces 2014 inductions
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame announces 2014 inductions

The Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center announced the seventh class of inductions into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame. The inductees were chosen from a field of candidates nominated by the general public. Inductees are honored for their notable contributions to the history and culture of Montana.

“Our Hall of Fame voting process is organized around our volunteer trustees across the state and the election process gives the local community volunteers a direct voice in who from their area is being inducted,” said Christy Stensland, executive director of the MCHF and WHC. “Many assume that to be inducted into the Hall of Fame you would have to be a famous cowboy, when in fact, the Hall of Fame exists to honor those who have made an impact in their local community and serve as a symbol of this way of life for future generations. This is truly a celebration of our authentic Montana heritage and those who pass it forward.”

The MCHF and WHC board of directors has designated 12 trustee districts across the state from which up to 20 trustees may be appointed. Nomination criteria established by the board for the Class of 2014 inductions allowed the election of up to one Living Inductee and two Legacy Inductees from each of the 12 districts. In the case of a tie, winning nominees are jointly inducted.

The 2014 inductees into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame are:

District 1 (Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt, Sheridan, and Valley counties): Living Award—John Russell Cloud, Wolf Point/Great Falls. Legacy Award—Don H. Lee, Dodson and Edmund N. “Neil” Taylor, Scobey.

District 2 (Dawson, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, and Wibaux counties): Living Award—Donald Glen Weeding, Jordan. Legacy Award—Patrick Thomas “Spud” Cremer, Jordan/Big Timber and Berney Kempton, Terry.

District 3 (Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, and Treasure counties): Living Award—Mary Margaret (MacKay) Ketchum, Plevna. Legacy Award—Odis Oren Harkins, Ekalaka and John Henry “Johnnie” Gilman, Miles City.

District 4 (Blaine, Chouteau, Hill, and Liberty Counties): Living Award—Loren Jenkins, Big Sandy. Legacy Award—Warrick Rodeo, Warrick and Roger Henry St. Pierre Sr., Box Elder (tie) and Fred Charles Henderson, Warrick (tie).

District 5 (Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, and Toole counties): Living Award—(three-way tie) Chief Earl Old Person, Browning, Gary J. (Lone Bull) Schildt, East Glacier, and Truman “Mouse” Hall, Valier. Legacy Award—Ira E. Perkins, Bynum and Lyall Sturgeon Crary, M.D., D.D.S., Choteau.

District 6 (Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, and Wheatland counties): Living Award—William W. “Bill” Lewis, Grass Range. Legacy Award—Peter “Pete” Vann, Geyser and Hazel Hash Warp, Harlowton.

District 7 (Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, and Yellowstone counties): Living Award—Lonnie Bell, Billings. Legacy Award—William C. “Bill” Huntington, Billings and John W. Moreland, Jr., Big Timber.

District 8 (Broadwater, Jefferson, and Lewis and Clark counties): Living Award—Charles Robert “Bob” Masolo, Townsend. Legacy Award—Helena Trail Riders, Helena and Keith William Herrin, Helena.

District 9 (Gallatin, Meagher, and Park counties): Living Award—Arlene Haugland, Belgrade. Legacy Award—Raymond Andrew Kannegard, Wilsall.

District 10 (Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, and Sanders counties): Living Award—Charles E. “Charley” Lyons, St. Ignatius. Legacy Award—William “Ed” Schall, Arlee.

District 11 (Mineral, Missoula, and Ravalli counties): Living Award—Dewaine Carlsen, Florence. Legacy Award—Hartley Lee Lambert, Stevensville and Oral Harris Zumwalt, Missoula.

District 12 (Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Granite, Madison, and Powell counties): Living Award—Jay Frederick Nelson, Jackson. Legacy Award—Jack and Ann Hirschy, Wisdom and Hubert Latimer “Tex” Smith, Dillon.

Since the initial round of inductions to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2008, including this year’s inductions, 201 inductees have been honored. Full biographies for past inductees are available on the MCHF and WHC’s website,

Date: 6/23/2014


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives