0927KSCollegesWinTeamTitles3PIXsr.cfm Malatya Haber Kansas colleges win team titles
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Kansas colleges win team titles

Livestock judging teams representing 28 junior and senior colleges from 10 states participated in the Mid-America Classic Livestock Judging Contest held Sept. 21 in Wichita. The contest, which drew more than 360 students, was held in conjunction with the Kansas Junior Livestock Show.

Hutchinson Community College won the sophomore division in the junior college contest, with Redlands Junior College of El Reno, Okla., finishing second. A team from Butler Community College won the freshman division. Fort Scott Community College came in second in this division.

High individuals in the sophomore contest were Patrick Arkfeld from HCC in first and Kyndal Reitzenstein with Redlands in second. Rounding out the top five, in order of finish, were: Sam Anthony, BCC; Caitlin Ohnoutka, HCC; and Logan Rea, Eastern Oklahoma State College.

Cole Kaufman from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College ranked top in the freshmen division, while the second place freshman was Logan Van Allen from Redlands. Following the top two, in order of finish, were: Cooper Bounds, BCC; Grace Hammer, HCC; and Reid Shipman, Allen Community College.

The senior college competition was won by a team from Oklahoma State University. A Texas Tech University team took second. Following OSU and TTU, in order of finish, were: another team from OSU; Kansas State University; and Colorado State University. A team consists of five individuals and a college can enter more than one team.

OSU’s Kassandra Pfeiffer was the top scoring senior college individual. She was followed by Nick Riecke from TTU. Placing third through fifth were: Taylor Graham, OSU; Curtis Doubet, CSU; and Justin Taubenheim, University of Nebraska.

The Mid-America Classic is sponsored by American AgCredit, Central Life Sciences, Innovative Livestock Services, the Kansas Livestock Association, the Kansas Livestock Foundation and Zoetis.

Those providing livestock for the contest included James Brothers Club Lambs, Clay Center; McCurry Bros. Angus, Sedgwick; Wildcat Creek Ranch, Peabody; Mein Club Lambs & Boer Goats, Girard; Alan Miller, Alma; Wedel Southdowns, Moundridge; Palen Club Lambs, Scott City; Zimmerman Hog Farms, Beatrice, Neb.; and several KJLS exhibitors.

Date: 10/07/2013

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives