Malatya Haber Missouri Corn announces new leadership
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Missouri Corn announces new leadership

With corn harvest in full swing, the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council and the Missouri Corn Growers Association are kicking off a new fiscal year with new leadership and new board members.

The election of the 2013-2014 MCMC officer team took place during an August board meeting held in Branson, Mo. The following MCMC leaders assumed their new roles Oct. 1:

Chairman—Kevin Hurst, Tarkio, Mo., District 1;

Vice Chairman—Gary Porter, Mercer, Mo., District 2;

Secretary—Greg Schneider, Warrenton, Mo., District 6; and

Treasurer—Kyle Kirby, Liberal, Mo., District 4.

Also elected in August, the 2013-14 MCGA officers are:

President—Jim Stuever, Dexter, Mo., District 7;

Vice President—Morris Heitman, Mound City, Mo., District 1; and

Secretary/Treasurer—Mike Moreland, Harrisonville, Mo., District 4.

New MCMC board members Matt Lambert of Brookfield, Mo., and Kurtis Gregory of Marshall, Mo., were recently elected by growers in Districts 2 and 5, respectively, and assumed their new roles Oct. 1. Lambert and Gregory will be nominated to the MCGA board at the organization’s annual meeting in January. Lambert replaces retiring board member Rob Korff of Norborne, Mo., while Gregory replaces Billy Thiel of Malta Bend, Mo. Both Korff and Thiel served the maximum nine years on the board and held multiple leadership roles including MCMC chairman and MCGA president.

Several Missouri Corn leaders have been appointed to serve on National Corn Growers Association action teams and committees. Kevin Hurst has been appointed to the Corn PAC; Jim Stuever was renamed to the Trade Policy and Biotechnology Action Team; Kyle Kirby was reappointed to the Production and Stewardship Action Team; Morris Heitman will rejoin the Public Policy Action Team; Mark Scott of Wentzville, Mo., will again serve on the Grower Services Action Team; Jay Schutte of Benton City, Mo., was named to the Ethanol Committee; Greg Schneider was appointed to the Bylaws Committee and Bradley Schad, Missouri Corn director of ethanol policy, will serve as a staff member of the Ethanol Committee. Additionally, Mike Geske of Matthews, Mo., is currently a director on the National Corn Board and represents corn farmers on the U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance board. Geske also serves as the liaison to the National Pork Producers Council on behalf of NCGA and will continue his work with the Missouri Corn board as an ex-officio member.

MCMC is also a longstanding partner with the U.S. Grains Council in working to enhance commodity values through strong international exports. Representing Missouri corn farmers on U.S. Grains Council committees are: Gary Porter, Western Hemisphere; Morris Heitman, Value-Added; Kevin Hurst, Middle East/Africa; Jay Fischer of Jefferson City, Mo., Membership and Communications; Missouri Corn Deputy Executive Director Gary Wheeler, Asia Programs; and Jim Stuever was reappointed as leader of the Biotechnology Advisory Team.

The MCMC board of directors is comprised of 14 corn growers elected from across the state. This volunteer board was formed in 1984 with the passage of a corn checkoff and is dedicated to market development, research and education. MCGA is a grassroots organization of more than 2,500 members committed to increasing the profitability of corn production through sound policies, continued market development and strong involvement in the political process. To learn more, visit

Formed in 1984, the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council is an organization of corn growers dedicated to developing and expanding corn markets, educating growers and customers and exploring new research opportunities.

The Missouri Corn Growers Association was formed in 1978 to protect the rights of its members, build new markets for corn and increase opportunities for Missouri corn farmers through sound public policy.

Date: 10/14/2013


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives