Malatya Haber Deadline for Kansas Grain Commodity Commissions Nov. 30
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Deadline for Kansas Grain Commodity Commissions Nov. 30

The Kansas Department of Agriculture will be accepting applications until Nov. 30, for candidates in central Kansas pursuing a seat on one of the state’s five grain commodity commissions including corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat and sunflowers.

To be eligible, candidates must have been actively engaged in growing corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat or sunflowers within the preceding five years and must gather 20 signatures from eligible voters to be included on the 2014 ballot. No more than five signatures from any one county can be used to qualify a candidate. Eligible voters must be Kansas residents of legal voting age at the time of the election and actively engaged in growing corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat or sunflowers within the past three years.

The 2014 election will cover central Kansas, districts four, five and six. Counties in district four include: Clay, Cloud, Jewell, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Republic, Rooks, Smith, and Washington counties. Counties located in district five include: Barton, Dickinson, Ellis, Ellsworth, Lincoln, McPherson, Marion, Rice, Rush, Russell and Saline counties. District six counties include: Barber, Comanche, Edwards, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Kiowa, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Sedgwick, Stafford and Sumner counties.

For questions regarding the application or eligibility requirements candidates should contact the Kansas Department of Agriculture or the respective grain commodity commission.

For more information about the Kansas Grain Commodity Commissions, visit their websites: Kansas Corn Commission:; Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission:; Kansas Soybean Commission:; Kansas Sunflower Commission: and Kansas Wheat Commission:

Date: 11/25/2013


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives