0208MOCornGrowers2PIXsr.cfm Malatya Haber Missouri corn growers convene for annual meeting
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Missouri corn growers convene for annual meeting


LOBBY DAY-Missouri corn producers from across the state took time away from the farm Jan. 29 to visit with legislators at the State Capitol about the important role corn plays in Missouri’s economy during the Missouri Corn Growers Association annual meeting and lobby day. (Photo courtesy of Missouri Corn Growers Association.)

Corn farmers, board members, industry representatives and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., Jan. 29 for the Missouri Corn Growers Association annual meeting and lobby day.

The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA's annual business meeting where members approved the 2012 annual meeting minutes and a financial report. Members also elected Scott Hays of Monroe City, Mo., to the MCGA board of directors to represent District 3 growers in northeast Missouri. Three board members were also reelected: Mike Moreland of District 4 in southwest Missouri; Jay Fischer of District 5 representing the central region; and Jim Stuever of District 7 in southeast Missouri.

Members also took the opportunity to recognize industry supporters for their contributions to the Missouri Corn Growers Association. Award recipients included:

--Public Servant Award: Sen. Kurt Schaefer;

--Friend of Corn Growers Award: Rep. Casey Guernsey;

--Outstanding Partner Award: Marsha Stanton, on behalf of Monsanto; Duane Simpson, on behalf of Monsanto; Todd Sears, on behalf of IntelliAir; Tony Stafford, on behalf of Missouri Agricultural and Small Business Development Authority;

--Honorary Lifetime Award: Billy Thiel, Malta Bend, Mo.; and

--President's Award: Rob Korff, Norborne, Mo.

"We have great friends and partners who work alongside us to pursue the best interests of the corn industry," said MCGA President Rob Korff, of Norborne, Mo. "We are proud to recognize their efforts and thank them for their continued partnership."

Also recognized was MCGA member Bob Brouster of Kingdom City, Mo., winner of the 2012 MCGA Membership Giveaway, a complete grain bin management system, courtesy of IntelliAir.

Following the annual meeting and a luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to talk with legislators on the important role Missouri corn and ethanol production play in the state's economy.

"MCGA works hard to represent farmers' interests in the halls of the Capitol," said Korff. "Every day decisions are made which could impact our farms so it is vital growers have a seat at the table. We appreciate those growers who took the time away from the farm to visit with legislators and provide a farmer's perspective on issues affecting agriculture."

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation. To learn more about Missouri Corn, or to become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call 800-827-4181.

The Missouri Corn Growers Association was formed in 1978 to protect the rights of its members, build new markets for corn and increase opportunities for Missouri corn farmers through sound public policy.

Date: 3/4/2013

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives