Malatya Haber Vilsack appoints National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection members
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Vilsack appoints National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection members

Tom Vilsack announced the appointment of members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection for the 2012-2014 term. Established in 1971, the 17-member NACMPI meets on food safety concerns and advises the Secretary of Agriculture on matters affecting federal and state inspection program activities. It also contributes to USDA's regulatory policy development.

"The diverse perspectives on food safety that the NACMPI members bring are invaluable to our success in ensuring the safety of the foods we eat," said Vilsack. "I am firmly committed to aggressively decreasing the incidence of foodborne illnesses and the support of these outstanding individuals will be instrumental in our work to protect the American people's food supply."

The new NACMPI members are:

--Carol Lorenzen, University of Missouri;

--Sherika Harvey, Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce;

--John Marcy, University of Arkansas Center of Excellence for Poultry Science;

--Christopher Waldrop, Consumer Federation of America; and

--Michael Rybolt, Hillshire Brands Company.

Returning members of the committee are: Patricia Buck, Center for Foodborne Illness Research & Prevention; Fur-Chi Chen, Tennessee State University; Nancy J. Donley, STOP Foodborne Illness, Inc.; Veneranda Gapud, Process Management Consulting; Heidi Kassenborg, Minnesota Department of Agriculture; Sarah A. Klein, Center for Science in the Public Interest; Robert G. Reinhard, Hillshire Brands Company; Craig E. Shultz, Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture; John Tilden, Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development; Steve E. Warshawer, Mesa Top Farm; J. Byron Williams, Mississippi State University; and Leonard W. Winchester, Public Health, Seattle and King County, Washington State.

Additional details can be found on the NACMPI website at

Date: 3/4/2013


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives