0614ChampionofAgricultureAwarddbsr.cfm Malatya Haber American Agri-Women presents 'Champion of Agriculture' Award
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

American Agri-Women presents 'Champion of Agriculture' Award

U.S. Sen. John Thune, of South Dakota, was honored with the 2013 American Agri-Women “Champion of Agriculture” Award during the organization’s annual legislative Fly-In trip to Washington D.C.

Thune is a strong advocate for issues that are vital to American food security and for sustaining farming communities, according to American Agri-Women. The association touted his leadership on a sensible school lunch program, protection of property rights, a transparent spending policy, and the repeal of the death tax.

Thune has been a watchdog for the welfare of rural communities through active support and sponsorship of important bills to agriculture during his terms of office, American Agri-Women stated in a news release.

Thune is the senior most Republican on the Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, serves as Ranking Member. He also served in Republican leadership as chairman of the Senate Republican Policy Committee from 2009-2011 and now serves as the chairman of the Senate Republican Conference, the No. 3 position in Senate Republican leadership.

“Sen. Thune has provided leadership and direction for agriculture in Washington D.C.,” said American Agri-Women President Karen Yost. “Because there are so few in Washington who have a first-hand knowledge of the industry that they regulate, it is imperitave that those who know and understand the rural community be active evangelists for our lifestyle. Sen. Thune has made a courageous effort to lead positive conversations for families in agriculture.”

Sharing the 2013 “Champions of Agriculture” honor with Thune was Sen. Susan Collins of Maine. The award recognizes members of Congress who are courageous in their efforts to support agriculture. Past recipients include Rep. Collin Peterson, D-MN; Sen. James Inhoffe, R-OK; Rep. Dennis Cardoza, D-CA; Sen. Pat Roberts, R-KS; Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-MI; and Rep. Cynthia Lummis, R-WY.

Since 1974, AAW members have worked together to educate consumers; advocate for agriculture; and offer networking and professional development opportunities.

The annual AAW Fly In offers diverse membership the opportunity to carry a positive message about agriculture to their representatives Washington, D.C.

Date: 6/24/2013

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives