0705UASoybeanYieldContestssr.cfm Malatya Haber Arkansas Soybean Association announces changes for annual yield contests
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Arkansas Soybean Association announces changes for annual yield contests

The Arkansas Soybean Association announces the continuation of the Race for 100 Bushels per Acre Soybean Yield Contest and the third year of the Grow for the Green ($$$$) Soybean Yield Challenge. These contests are open to all soybean producers in Arkansas and the entry deadline is Aug. 1.

The Race for 100 will recognize the first producer or producers to achieve or exceed the 100 bushel milestone with a $50,000 cash prize. In the event that more than one producer hit the 100 bushel mark, the prize will be divided between the producers.

For 2013, there are changes in the prizes and producer categories for The Grow for the Green ($$$$) Challenge. These changes include the state being divided into seven geographic regions and an entire state conventional (non-gmo) category. Categories are:

1. Northeast Delta: Mississippi, Crittenden, East of Crowley’s Ridge (Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross).

2. Northeast: Randolph, Lawrence, West of Crowley’s Ridge (Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross).

3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe.

4. Central & Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas.

5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area).

6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha.

7. Western: Remainder of the state.

8. Conventional Division: Entire state non-GMO production.

Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top 3 producers (minimum of 60 bushels per acre) at the Arkansas Soybean Association Annual Meeting in January. First place is worth $10,000, 2nd place is worth $75000, and 3rd place is $5000. In additional, the top three in the state across all categories will receive additional prize money.

Crop production information is being compiled by personnel with the Arkansas Soybean Association and/or the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture as a resource for Arkansas producers on all those who enter the contests. 2012 data is available on the Arkansas Soybean Association website at www.arkansassoybean.com. Extension Agronomist for Soybeans Jeremy Ross says, “These contests and the production information gleaned from the producers show the continued potential of soybean production in Arkansas. All producers should be interested in the results.”

These contests are administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association with funding provided by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using soybean checkoff funds. Crop management assistance is provided by the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture Extension Personnel and many of our state certified crop consultants.

The field must have been planted to soybeans in at least one of the last three production years prior to 2013 and the contestant must have paid the appropriate checkoff assessments on the soybeans.

Entry forms with a complete list of rules are available by contacting the office at 501-666-1418 or from your local county agent. They can also be downloaded at www.arkansassoybean.com or www.themiraclebean.com.

Date: 7/29/2013

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives