Malatya Haber Missouri CattleWomen elect 2013 leadership
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Missouri CattleWomen elect 2013 leadership


Leading the Missouri CattleWomen's Association for a second year is Brenda Black of Deepwater. Black was elected to office during the 45th Annual Missouri Cattle Industry Convention in Columbia, Mo. She previously served as the CattleWomen's vice president, president elect and committee chair of promotions en route to the association presidency.

Other elected officers include: President Elect Sue Day of Pilot Grove; Vice President Marilyn Lesmeister, Montrose; Secretary Janet Crow, West Plains; and Treasurer Mary Kay Lyle of Savannah. MCW is an affiliate organization to the Missouri Cattlemen's Association, providing a wide spectrum of volunteer services and activities that promote beef and educate consumers.

"Our members can be found demonstrating and supplying recipes," says Black. "You'll see them in classrooms providing educational resources to teachers and enlightening students about safe handling and the nutritional benefits of beef, including beef's 29 lean cuts. CattleWomen are conducting ranch tours, preparing school lunches, sitting on community boards, lobbying in Jefferson City, grilling alongside their ranching husbands or raising funds to support young agriculturalists with scholarships. These days, they are agricultural advocates on every level. I'm pleased to work alongside them."

During the annual convention, the Missouri CattleWomen also honored member Pam Naylor, Buffalo, as the CattleWoman of the Year and awarded University of Missouri student Sarah Ray a scholarship in memory of MCW past presidents Anna Mary Harvey and Winifred Graff. They also crowned Sarah Sprague as the 2013 Beef Queen.

Together, the officer team, these award-winning beef spokeswomen and a growing membership of cattlewomen of all ages celebrate the organization's 60th year in existence. Officers and members alike can be found across the state telling Missouri's Beef Story in 2013.

Date: 1/21/2013


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives