0215TexasWheatBoardElection.cfm Malatya Haber Texas Wheat Board to hold biennial election
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Texas Wheat Board to hold biennial election


The Texas Wheat Producers Board is holding its biennial election to elect five board members to fill expiring positions. The election, to be held by mail, officially begins March 23 and will conclude April 9.

Terms expiring in 2013 include Cagle Kendrick of District I, Tommy Womack of District II, Fred Dwyer of District III, Ken Davis of District IV, and Jack Norman also of District IV.

Any person who is engaged in commercial wheat production in Texas is eligible to vote for the district in which they reside. This includes owners of farms and their tenants and share croppers if they are subject to paying the assessment that is collected on wheat within the following counties:

--District I: Dallam, Sherman, Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Hansford, Roberts, Moore, Hartley, Hutchinson and Gray.

--District II: Carson, Potter, Oldham, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Briscoe, Swisher, Castro, Parmer, Hale and Floyd.

--District III: Childress, Hardeman, Foard, Knox, Throckmorton, Haskell, Archer, Baylor, Wilbarger, Wichita, Young and Clay.

--District IV: All other counties in Texas.

Ballots are available from the Texas AgriLife Extension Service and Farm Service Agency offices in each Texas county, local elevators or by mail from the TWPB office through April 9. Ballots must be mailed to the TWPB, 5405 West I-40, Amarillo, TX 79106, and will not be valid with a postmark date later than April 9.

Current TWPB members whose terms are not expiring are Bob Beakley of Ennis, Jody Bellah of Throckmorton, Collin Bowers of Spearman, David Cleavinger of Wildorado, Glen Gibson of Lometa, Ron Kuehler of Groom, Scott McGarraugh of Perryton, Gary Murphy of Dawson, Ben Scholz of Wylie and Freddie Streit of Vernon.

Board members are responsible for the allocation of funds from a state-wide wheat producer assessment of two cents per bushel. These funds are applied to wheat research, education and market development. The Texas Agricultural Commodity Referendum Law prohibits such funds from being used for lobbying or legislative efforts. For more information, contact the Texas Wheat Producers Board office toll-free at 888-40-WHEAT or 806-352-2191.

Date: 2/25/2013

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives