0215GoldenPlowAwardsr.cfm Malatya Haber Rep. Lucas wins Farm Bureau Golden Plow award
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Rep. Lucas wins Farm Bureau Golden Plow award


U.S. Rep. Frank Lucas, R-OK, received American Farm Bureau's Golden Plow Award Feb. 18, during Oklahoma Farm Bureau's annual leadership conference at the Skirvin Hotel, Oklahoma City.

The Golden Plow award is presented annually to one member of the U.S. Senate and one member of the U.S. House of Representatives who have demonstrated strong support for Farm Bureau and agricultural issues.

"As chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, Lucas has worked tirelessly for agriculture and the state of Oklahoma," said OFB President Mike Spradling. "His work on the new farm bill, combined with his many years of service to Oklahoma, makes him a deserving recipient of AFBF's top legislative award."

Lucas is a fifth-generation Oklahoman whose family has lived and farmed in the state for more than 100 years. He was first elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1994 and is currently serving his 11th term. Representing Oklahoma's third district, which comprises 32 counties in western and northern Oklahoma, Lucas is well aware of the major rural and agricultural issues.

"I am honored and pleased to accept this award," Lucas said. "Throughout my service in Congress, I have worked hard to be a strong voice for American agriculture because I know how important it is to our state and nation. I have experienced firsthand the devastating effects of drought and appreciate the many challenges farmers endure to make certain we have a stable food and fiber supply. I will continue to work to maintain our investment in rural America and ensure that farm policy is not one of the challenges farmers face."

In addition to his duties as chairman of the agriculture committee, Lucas serves on the House committee on financial services and the committee on science, space and technology.

Prior to his service in Congress, Lucas served five and half years in the Oklahoma State House of Representatives.

Lucas is only the fourth Oklahoma lawmaker to receive the award. Sen. David Boren (1990), Sen. Don Nickles (1992) and Sen. Jim Inhofe (2010) are past recipients.

Date: 2/25/2013

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives