1112PaolacowgirlAAatURAfina.cfm Malatya Haber Paola cowgirl takes year-end All-Around title at United Rodeo Association Finals
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Paola cowgirl takes year-end All-Around title at United Rodeo Association Finals

By Frank J. Buchman

It had to be recorded as a truly-golden-event when all the dust had settled, tabulations finished and awards distributed after the recent United Rodeo Association Finals in Topeka.

"A total of 145 cowboy and cowgirls, representing the top 15 in each of nine contest events, gathered from throughout the Midwest to compete for more than $60,000 in prize money and awards at our 50th birthday finals rodeo," calculated Muff McGee, URA secretary from Yates Center, Kan.

"Champions were recognized after the three-day finals, and year-end award high-point contestants were also honored," said Monty Dyer, URA president from Ottawa, Kan.

All-around title went to Timber Allenbrand of Paola for collecting $12,946 throughout the year. Winning second in the finals barrel racing average, Allenbrand was also first for the year in that event, with winnings of $9,252. She placed ninth for the year in breakaway roping, earning $3,693.

Bailee Wright, Billings, Mo., was the barrel racing finals average winner, with Leeanna Meador, Tipton, Mo., third; and Stacie Coke, Ashland, Mo., fourth

Second through fourth in barrel racing year-end tabulations went to Jordon Talbot, Centerville, Iowa; Hannah Holland, Bucyrus, Kan.; and Lindsay Leverington, Troy, Mo.

Cooper Martin, Alma, Kan., didn't have the finals he'd anticipated, but when year-end titles were bestowed he had a lion's share of the limelight. Going into the finals ranked first in calf roping and breakaway roping, Martin collected two finals checks, a $204 payback as fourth in the calf roping average, after receiving $264, for third in the third go-round of that event.

"However, Cooper Martin collected the year-end calf roping championship for winning $4,951, making him the youngest cowboy ever to win that URA event," Dyer noted. Martin was also breakaway roping year-end titlist with $8,717 earnings.

P.J. Foutch, Eldora, Iowa, won the finals calf roping average, followed by Cody Huber, Albia, Iowa; and Ryan Spurgin, Eminence, Mo.

Ranking behind Martin in the calf roping year-end were Jesse Hinkle, Powersville, Mo.; Jeff Miller, Blue Mound, Kan.; and Spurgin.

Jeanette Jilek, Princeton, Kan., was the finals breakaway roping champion, followed by Tyler Milligan, Pawhuska, Okla.; Kirbie Crouse, Gallatin, Mo.; and Bailie Smith, Leon, Iowa. Year-end breakaway placings after Martin were Missy Bennett, Buffalo, Kan.; Molly Bates, Estherville, Iowa.; and Milligan.

Dustin Jilek, Princeton, Kan., was the year-end champion in forty and over calf roping with $7,926, after placing second in the finals average.

Finals average forty and over calf roping winner was Buck Sells, Coin, Iowa., with Phil Griffith, Gilman City, Mo., third, and Greg Ash, Aurora, Mo., fourth. Behind Jilek for the year-end forty and over calf roping awards were Dan Davis, Bloomfield, Iowa.; Tim Kraus, Pacific, Mo.; and Dyer.

Billy Griffin, Oak Grove, Mo., and Justin Williams, Eudora, split first in the finals average of the bareback bronc riding, but Griffin was year-end champion with $8,069 winnings, followed by Williams. Jason Lenzen, Cook, Mn., ranked third in the average at the finals bareback event, and ended the year in that place as well. Year-end fourth went to Tyler Davison, Rocheport, Mo.

Weston Piercebacher, Kellerton, Iowa, and Jake McKellips, Louisburg, Kan., ranked first and second respectively in the saddle bronc riding finals, and were in that same standing for the year-end. Piercebacher's annual winnings were $6,218. Third and fourth respectively at the finals saddle bronc riding went to Cody Burkholder, Clarksville, Iowa., and Andrew Leeper, Leon, Iowa., who ended the year also in fourth. Matt Ory, Leon, Iowa., ranked third for year.

Collecting $4,633 for riding bulls during the past year, Joel Wilson, Boone, Iowa., was the event champion after also topping the finals. Matt Boos, Wathena, Kan., placed second in the bull riding finals, but came out third overall for the year. Jeep Steenoek, Keokuk, Iowa., was third in the finals, yet ranked second year-end. Jace Smith, Lyndon was fourth in the finals bull riding, while Dalton Cooper, Yates Center, was fourth year-end.

Wes Huff, Moravia, Iowa., collected the finals steer wrestling title, and was second for the year, while year-end champion Jacob Edler, State Center, Iowa., won $4,791 during the year, after ranking second in the finals average. Joey Fick, Dixon, Mo., placed third in the finals steer wrestling, while Troy Callaway, Maple Hill, was fourth. Zac Parrington, Hoyt, ended third for the year, with Jeff Miller, fourth.

Cody Graham, Adrian, Mo., year-end third place header, teamed with year-end champion heeler Jason Thompson, Ozark, Mo., to win the finals team roping. At the finals, Seth and Sam Kueffer, California, Mo., were second, followed by Jason Jennings, St. Clair, Mo., the year-end champion header, and J.R. Henderson, DeSoto Mo. Adam Rose, Willard, Mo., teamed with Gerry Lisby, Ashland, Mo., to be fourth. Additional year-end headers placing in order: Troy Kitchner, Liberty, Mo.; Cody Graham, Adrian, Mo.; and Will George, Coon Rapids, Iowa. Ranking behind Thompson for year-end heeling awards were Ryan Spurgin; Chad Mathes, Lawson, Mo.; and Tyler Macoubrie, Paola.

Date: 2/18/2013

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives