0419PrairieChickenWebinardbsr.cfm Malatya Haber Webinar set for lesser prairie-chicken discussion
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer



Farm Survey


AgriMartin
Journal Getaways


Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Webinar set for lesser prairie-chicken discussion

Advertisement

The potential listing of the lesser prairie-chicken as a threatened or endangered species by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is on the minds of many landowners in Kansas and a cause of concern for land managers.

The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism and K-State Research and Extension will have a webinar to address landowners’ concerns at 7 p.m. April 30, at 17 Kansas locations.

Speakers from KDWPT, Farm Services Agency and Natural Resources Conservation Agency will provide updated information. Topics to be discussed include background on the lesser prairie-chicken listing and the state’s planning efforts; goals of the plan; and priority areas.

Detailed information on the conservation value of land and allocation of offset payments to landowners will be provided. Information on the state and federal plans specifically designed to improve habitat for LPC and what a proposed listing means to those enrolled in federal programs will be explained.

Webinars allow those with high speed internet to connect with the host site and view and listen to the speaker’s programs online. Participants will be able to ask questions and make comments. Because of anticipated demand, there will be 17 viewing sites of the webinar. The list of sites follows:

Ashland Community Building, 800 Main, Ashland, Kan., 620-635-2811. Contact Tanner Gillum, tgillum@ksu.edu.

Finney County Extension Office, 501 S. 9th St. Garden City, Kan., 620-272-3670. Contact Barbara Addison, baddison@ksu.edu.

Western State Bank Expo Center, 11333 Hwy 283, Dodge City, Kan., 620-227-4542. Contact Andrea Burns, aburns@ksu.edu.

Grant County Civic Center, Lawson Room, 1100 W. Patterson, Ulysses, Kan., 620-356-1721. Contact Joe Leibbrandt, jleibbra@ksu.edu.

4-H Building, 17002 W. Hwy 50, Cimarron, Kan., 620-855-3821. Contact Kurt Werth, kwerth@ksu.edu.

Hamilton County, Fairgrounds, 806 South Main, Syracuse, Kan., 620-384-5225. Contact Jeff Wilson, jjwilson@ksu.edu.

Hodgeman County, 4-H Building, S. Atkin Street, Jetmore, Kan., 620-357-8321. Contact Dewayne Craghead, dcraghea@ksu.edu.

Kiowa County, Kiowa County Commons Conference Room, 320 S. Main, Suite 110, Greensburg, Kan., 620-723-2156. Contact Barrett Smith, basmith@ksu.edu.

Logan County, Courthouse Meeting Room, 710 W. 2nd, Oakley, Kan., 785-671-3245. Contact Julie Niehage, julienie@ksu.edu.

Morton County, Morton County Extension Office, 625 Colorado, Elkhart, Kan., 620-697-2558. Contact Tim Jones, tjones@ksu.edu.

Ness County, Ness County 4-H Building, 105 S. Pennsylvania, Ness City, Kan., 785-798-3921. Contact Chris Long, clong@ksu.edu.

Pratt County, KDWPT Office, 515 East 25th, Pratt, Kan., 620-672-5911. Contact Mike Mitchener, mike.mitchener@ksoutdoors.com.

Scott County, Williams Carpenter Building, East Fairground Road, Scott City, Kan., 620-872-2930. Contact John Beckman, jbeckman@ksu.edu.

Seward County, Seward County Activity Building, 810 Stadium Road, Liberal, Kan., 620-624-5604. Contact Kylee Harrison, kharrison@ksu.edu.

Sherman County, Sherman County 4-H Building, 417 Main Street, Goodland, Kan., 785-890-4880. Contact Dana Belshe, dbelshe@ksu.edu.

Stevens County, Memorial Hall, 200 E. 6th St., Stevens County Courthouse, Hugoton, Kan., 620-544-4359. Contact Josh Morris, jcmorris@ksu.edu.

Trego County, WaKeeney Public Library, 610 Russell Avenue Wakeeney, Kan., 785-743-6361. Contact Ashley Conness, acoker@ksu.edu.

For more information contact a local Extension agent or Charlie Lee, K-State Research and Extension wildlife specialist, at clee@ksu.edu or 785-532-5734.

Date: 4/29/2013



Google
 
Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com

 

Archives Search







Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives