Malatya Haber Nonfarm businesses eligible to apply for economic disaster loans
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Nonfarm businesses eligible to apply for economic disaster loans


Small, nonfarm businesses in 47 Kansas counties are now eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration. The loans are intended to off-set economic losses caused by drought conditions that began July 17.

The primary Kansas counties are Chase, Dickinson, Douglas, Ellis, Ellsworth, Franklin, Geary, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Marion, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Rush, Russell, Saline, Shawnee, Smith, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte.

Nonfarm businesses in the following neighboring Kansas counties are also eligible to apply: Anderson, Atchison, Barton, Butler, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Greenwood, Harvey, Jackson, Jewell, Linn, Lyon, McPherson, Ness, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Rice, Riley, Rooks and Trego.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred. Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate of 4 percent for businesses and 3 percent for private, nonprofit organizations. They have a maximum term of 30 years and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack declared this disaster on July 25.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U. S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the declaration. However, in drought disasters, nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application via

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at 800-659-2955, emailing, or visiting

Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877-8339.

The deadline to apply for these loans is March 25, 2013.

Date: 9/3/2012


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives