0719JrHerefordBoard1PIXsr.cfm Malatya Haber Junior Hereford board members, officers elected
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Junior Hereford board members, officers elected

NJHA BOARD--2012-2013 National Junior Hereford Association board of directors (seated, from left to right) are: Tamar Adcock, Assumption, Ill., chairman; Krissi McCurdy, Chatsworth, Ga., vice chairman; Jaime Hanson, Comfrey, Minn., communications chair; Shelby Rogers, Hamilton, Texas, fundraising chair; and Courtney Tribble, Puyallup, Wash., leadership chair. Directors (standing, from left to right) are Jason May, East Randolph, Minn.; Brady Jensen, Courtland, Kan.; Austin Buzanowski, Pompeys Pillar, Mont.; Keysto Stotz, Skiatook, Okla., membership chair; Matt Woolfolk, Columbia, Tenn.; Kristin Bielema, Grand Rapids, Mich.; and Elise Hackett, Tuscola, Ill. (Courtesy photo.)

The election of four new junior Hereford members to the National Junior Hereford Association board of directors was made, along with announcement of the new officer team at the 13th annual VitaFerm Junior National Hereford Expo July 7 in Grand Island, Neb.

The 2012-2013 officer team includes for chairman, Tamar Adcock, Assumption, Ill.; vice chairman, Krissi McCurdy, Chatsworth, Ga.; communications chair, Jaime Hanson, Comfrey, Minn.; membership chair, Keysto Stotz, Skiatook, Okla.; leadership chair, Courtney Tribble, Puyallup, Wash.; and fundraising chair, Shelby Rogers, Hamilton, Texas. Also serving on the board are directors Matt Woolfolk, Columbia, Tenn.; and Austin Buzanowski, Pompeys Pillar, Mont.

Kristin Bielema, Elise Hackett, Brady Jensen and Jason May received their maroon jackets as new NJHA directors during the awards ceremony July 7. Two delegates from each state junior Hereford association voted for the individuals they wanted to represent the membership. The four retiring junior board members announced the results and passed their jackets onto the new leadership.

Kristin Bielema is the 18-year-old daughter of David and Jill Bielema, Grand Rapids, Mich. She is a recent graduate of Grand Rapids Christian High School and is attending Michigan State University as a freshman this fall, majoring in animal science pre-veterinary, focusing on beef cattle genetics and specializing in agribusiness. Kristin has been an active member of the varsity soccer team, homecoming court and a student congress member as well as a varsity cross country runner. She is currently the secretary/treasurer of the Michigan Junior Hereford Association, three-time state delegate and a NJHA member for seven years.

Elise Hackett, of Tuscola, Ill., is the 18-year-old daughter of Dave and Marcia Hackett. She is currently a freshman at the University of Illinois where she is majoring in animal science and pre-veterinary medicine. She recently graduated from high school where she was a National Honor Society member, Tuscola Honors Choir member and president of the Tuscola FFA

Chapter as well as the current Illinois Junior Hereford Association vice president and the Illinois state queen. Hackett has been a national mentor for six years, attended multiple Program for Reaching Individuals Determined to Excel Conventions and JNHEs and competed in multiple contests over the years.

Brady Jensen of Courtland, Kan., is the 19-year-old son of Kevin and Sheila Jensen. Jensen is currently a sophomore at Butler County Community College. Along with being a student, Brady is an active member of the BCCC Livestock Judging team, Ag Ambassador Club, President's Honor Roll and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Member. As far as Hereford involvement, he is the president of the Kansas Junior Hereford Association, member of the 2011 Junior National Hereford Expo fundraising and show committees, 2011 Walter and Joe Lewis Award winner and Ed Bible Memorial Scholarship winner. Jensen has been a JNHE exhibitor for 12 years, a National Junior Hereford Association and KJHA member for 18 years, attended two PRIDE conventions, served as a Kansas voting delegate for three years and exhibits cattle at national Hereford shows across the country. At this year's JNHE, Brady was named Hereford Herdsman of the Year and was also awarded the John Wayne, Hereford Herdsman, Golden Bull Achievement and Future Cattlemen Scholarships.

Jason May is the 19-year-old son of Mark and Ann May of East Randolph, Minn. He is currently a sophomore at Hutchinson Community College where he is majoring in animal science and farm-ranch management. Jason has been an active member in the Randolph High School junior and senior play where he was awarded the outstanding senior actor. He is also an usher and mass server at Saint Mathias Church, along with being a Sunday school teacher. May is also very involved with the Dakota County 4-H where he has served as a youth teaching instructor, an ambassador, youth agriculture day presenter, food drive coordinator and a fitting and grooming clinic presenter. May has served as Randolph FFA president, three-time Minnesota Junior Hereford Association state voting delegate and the 2011-2012 MJHA president.

The 2012 VitaFerm Junior National Hereford Expo was sponsored in part by Biozyme Inc., St. Joseph, Mo. The NJHA is one of the most active junior programs in the country with approximately 3,000 members. The NJHA's mission is to create and promote enthusiasm for the breed while providing opportunities through leadership, education and teamwork. For more information about the NJHA, visit JrHereford.org.

Date: 9/3/2012

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives