Malatya Haber Iowa Farm Bureau Cookout champion crowned at state fair
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Iowa Farm Bureau Cookout champion crowned at state fair


COOKOUT KING—Farm Bureau President Craig Hill crowns Daryl Witt of Warren County as the 2012 Farm Bureau Cookout Contest Winner Tuesday at the Iowa State Fair. (Photo by Gary Fandel, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation.)

Daryl Witt of Warren County was crowned the 2012 Iowa Farm Bureau Cookout Contest winner with his "Slap Yo' Daddy" Ribs recipe. Witt beat out 45 other grillers, representing counties from around the state, to win the 49th annual competition.

The annual Iowa Farm Bureau-sponsored contest featured outdoor chefs using their best grilling, roasting and smoking techniques. "Every year, we are amazed at the creativity of Iowa's grillers. Each recipe has been tested and tasted and each one brings out the different traits of each type of meat," said Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Hill. "Our livestock farmers are so proud to raise healthy livestock that provide important sources of protein and inspiration for cooks like the ones at our annual contest."

Cookout champion Witt won first place in the pork category before being selected by the judges as the overall winner. He received $200 and a permanent trophy as the cookout champion.

Other first place winners and their categories were William Hoffman, Jr., of Tama County, beef; Michelle Bruce of Benton County, lamb/goat; Jason Cronk of Tama County, poultry; and Nate Miller of Scott County, combo/specialty. All winners received $75.

Second place winners and their categories were Bruce Campbell of Hardin County, beef; Mike Vroom of Marion County, combo/specialty; Andy Wilson of Lee County, pork; and Tracy Christensen of Audubon County, poultry. All second place winners received $50.

Winners in special categories were youth first place, Lance Henrichs of Clarke County, and youth second place, Amber Westemeier of Linn County; showmanship, Phil Cummings of Benton County; and team, Jason Kula and Alvin Westemeier of Linn County. The youth winner received a gas grill and $75 and second place received $50 from the Iowa Propane Association. The showmanship winner received $100. The team winners received $150.

Prize sponsors for the Cookout Contest include the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Farm Bureau Financial Services, GROWMARK, Inc., Iowa Propane Gas Association, Iowa Pork Producers Association, the Iowa Beef Industry Council, the Iowa Turkey Federation and the Iowa Poultry Association. The Iowa Sheep and Wool Promotion Board is also a sponsor of the contest.

The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation is a grassroots, statewide organization dedicated to helping farm families prosper and improve their quality of life. More than 153,000 families in Iowa are Farm Bureau members, working together to achieve economic growth, educational improvement, and environmental quality in their communities. For more information about Farm Bureau and agriculture, visit the online media center at

Date: 9/10/2012


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives