Malatya Haber 4-H Foundation presents awards at alumni event
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

4-H Foundation presents awards at alumni event


Twenty-one 4-H club members from southwest Missouri received special recognition Sept. 23, at the Ozark Empire Fairgrounds in Springfield according to Byron Morrison, chairman of the Greene County 4-H Foundation.

"As part of our annual 4-H Alumni Reunion and Pie Supper it was our privilege to recognize outstanding 4-Hers from across southwest Missouri," said Morrison.

Nearly 200 4-H family members, friends and alumni gathered at the Ozark Empire Fairgrounds to honor current members, visit old friends and bid on pies and cakes as part of the Foundation's annual fund raising event.

Jasper County 4-H alum Andrew Chandler and Greene County's 4-H alum Wallace Squibb were joint master of ceremonies for the program. Boyd Rice of Lockwood and Scott Burns of Strafford donated their time as the auctioneers.

The member "cake wars" contest winners were Sherry Kelley and Taylor Hollis representing the Greene County 4-H Teen Council.

The Horsin' Around 4-H Club won the club award for most active participating club.

The 4-H Foundation presented recognition plaques to 4-Hers from 12 of the 16 counties in southwest Missouri. The following is a list of honorees organized by county.

--Jasper County: Alyssa Rockers and Hannah Rockers;

--Barton County: Caitlin Moreno and Mycah Reed;

--Polk County: Alyssa Presley and Michaela Higginbotham;

--McDonald County: Hannah Sherman;

--Newton County: Brandi Denefrio and Madelaine Giebler;

--Lawrence County: Sydney Rice and Katie Pennell;

--Dallas County: Keayra Gene Kelso and Brittany Eagleburger;

--Dade County: Angelica R. Kostik and Ethan Manke;

--Greene County: Breanna Hollis and Taylor Hollis;

--Christian County: Grant Goolsby and Isabella Biondo; and

--Webster County: Mark Lawrence and Katie Wantland.

For information on 4-H contact any of these 4-H youth development specialists in southwest Missouri: Velynda Cameron in Polk County at 417-326-4916; Bob McNary in Jasper County at 417-358-2158; Karla Deaver in Lawrence County at 417-466-3102; or Jeremy Elliott-Engel in Newton County at 417-455-9500.

Date: 10/15/2012


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives