Malatya Haber Oklahoma FFA Foundation honored
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Oklahoma FFA Foundation honored


The Oklahoma FFA Foundation was named a category winner for the Youth Development Division tonight at the fifth annual Oklahoma Nonprofit Excellence Awards in Tulsa. In total, eight agencies were named winners of their unique category of service, and 16 received finalist awards. In addition, the Oklahoma FFA Foundation was named the overall winner of the event and was awarded the $10,000 Charles Schusterman Award for Excellence. In total, nearly $150,000 was awarded to 24 of the state's top nonprofits.

Monica Wilke of Grandfield, Executive Director of Oklahoma Farm Bureau & Affiliated Companies, currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Oklahoma FFA Foundation.

The ONE Awards, hosted annually by the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits, is a celebratory event that honors nonprofits throughout the state for serving and inspiring their communities.

Paula Huck, event chair of the 2012 ONE Awards, praised the work of this year's finalists.

"The 24 finalists honored this evening continually help to educate, enrich and encourage Oklahomans every day," Huck said. "Their commitment to excellence has set them apart."

The Oklahoma FFA Foundation supports over 24,000 FFA members in 356 FFA Chapters across the state. The goal of the FFA Foundation is to adequately fund the leadership development activities of the FFA. "Being recognized by the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits as the Charles Schusterman Award for Excellence winner is an honor of the highest magnitude," said Kendall Brashears, Executive Director of the FFA Foundation. "The credibility and validity this award brings to our organization will speak volumes in the future."

Kendall Brashears accepted the Charles Schusterman Award for Excellence on behalf of the Oklahoma FFA Foundation at the event. They were also awarded a $10,000 monetary gift.

Joe Moran, Board Chair of the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits, commended the winners and finalists.

"Our board understands the hard work and dedication of this year's finalists," Moran said. "We work directly with our nonprofits, which is why we are here to celebrate those accomplishments. Our board believes these organizations are most deserving of this recognition, and we are proud to honor them."

Finalists for the ONE Awards are nominated and selected by a Commission chaired by J. Jerry Dickman of Tulsa. The Commission comprises community leaders from throughout the state and meets annually to identify and reward nonprofits that exhibit excellence in service.

The Commissioners include: Michael Cawley, Ardmore; Nance Diamond, Shawnee; Frederick Drummond, Pawhuska; Ken Fergeson, Altus; R.H. Harbaugh, Tulsa; Kim Henry, Oklahoma City; David Hogan, Tulsa; Phil Lakin, Tulsa; Frank Merrick, Oklahoma City; Polly Nichols, Oklahoma City; and the Rev. George Young, Oklahoma City.

"Our Commission nominated each finalist based on their overall impact and organizational accountability," Huck said. "We are all very proud of the work of each nonprofit honored at the ONE Awards."

Of nonprofits nominated from across the state, 24 were selected as finalists in one of eight categories of service. The winners in each category received $7,500, and the two other finalists received $5,000.

Date: 10/15/2012


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives