Malatya Haber Kansas Sampler Foundation presents We Kan! awards
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Kansas Sampler Foundation presents We Kan! awards


The 20th annual We Kan! awards were presented at the Kansas Sampler Festival to ten people who help preserve and sustain rural culture. The awards are given by the Kansas Sampler Foundation as appreciation for dedicated work to help preserve and sustain rural culture.

The 2012 winners are:

--Myrna Barnes, Elkhart, Commitment to County History;

--Amy Bickel, Hutchinson News, Perfectly Penning about Past Kansas Towns;

--Vicki Gillett, Larned, Longtime Community Promoter;

--Connie Grafel, Oberlin, Steady Regional Influence;

--Keystone Gallery, Scott County, Fabulous Fossil Stewards;

--Connie Kimsey, Arkansas City, Rock Solid Regional Partner;

--Dick Mosier, Herington, Valuable Volunteer and Explorer;

--Fred Peterson, Marquette, Determined Community Booster;

--Julie Roller, Wamego, Awesome Supporter of Her Towns; and

--Ruben Schuckman, Hays, Devoted Promoter of Ellis County Towns.

Foundation Director Marci Penner said, "In their own way, each of these people has made an impact for the good of rural Kansas. It is our privilege to honor them."

The awards plates are made annually by Steve and Jane Fry of Elk Falls Pottery.

Date: 6/18/2012


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives