0621KSHRAdeterminesnatlteam.cfm Malatya Haber Kansas High School Rodeo Finals determines national team
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Kansas High School Rodeo Finals determines national team

By Frank J. Buchman

Champions in the Kansas High School Rodeo Association have been announced.

Placings at the Kansas High School Rodeo Finals in early June at Hutchinson determined the year-end standings in some events, according to Suzan Adams, state secretary from Junction City.

Most of the cowboys and cowgirls who finished in the top four of their events at the conclusion of the 14 rodeos sanctioned by the association during the past school year will represent Kansas at the National High School Rodeo Finals, July 15 to 21, in Rock Springs, Wyo.

"However, there some exceptions," according to Adams, as she named the state team members.

Jarek Van Petten, Meriden, was recognized as the all-around cowboy after placing first for the year in steer wrestling, and second in both calf roping and boys cutting. He'll compete in all three events at the national finals.

Runner-up all-around cowboy was Kevin Veatch, Emporia, who was first for the year in boys cutting and will go to the finals in that competition. His mount, Little Frecklena, was honored as the Horse of the Year in the association.

Stacey Bailey, Cherokee, Okla., collected the all-around cowgirl title after placing first in both goat tying and barrel racing as well as third in pole bending, qualifying her for the finals in all three events.

Runner-up all-around cowgirl was Paige Wiseman, Paola, who will go to the finals in girls cutting, goat tying and pole bending, after placing third, second and fifth, respectively in those events for the year. Her mount, Sailing Harlan, was also honored as runner-up in the Horse of the Year voting.

McKayla Bacon, Dodge City, was crowned Miss Kansas High School Rodeo in the queen pageant at the finals and will compete for the National High School Rodeo Queen title. She'll also represent the state association at activities throughout the next year.

National finals qualifiers in order of standings include:

Boys cutting--Veatch; Van Petten; Mitchell Gorman, Meade; and Calvin Coddington, Reading.

Girls cutting--Abigail Lechtenberg, Hutchinson; Polly Gorman, Meade; Wiseman; and Jade Kruse, Oakley.

Bareback bronc riding--Jacob Willems, Windom; Colton Delgado, Great Bend; DJ Short, Manhattan; and Colter Krehbiel, Marquette.

Saddle bronc riding--Lane Hamm, Minneapolis.

Calf roping--Wade Perry, Lamont, Okla.; Van Petten; Trey Johnson, Humboldt; and Cooper Martin, Alma.

Goat tying--Bailey; Wiseman; Shelby Whiting, Paola; and Riley Bowen, Sylvia.

Steer wrestling--Van Petten; Laine Herl, Goodland; Clayton Kolb, Cherokee, Okla.; and Ian Deges, Dodge City.

Pole bending--Kaylee Smith, Wakenney; Peyton Mentzer, Ensign; Bailey; Whiting; and Wiseman.

Team roping--Austin Crist, Rocky Ford, Colo., and Trevor Kirchenslger, Yuma, Colo.; Ben and Nathan Johnsrud, Plains; Kody Tredway, Erie, and Perry; and Casey Adams, Junction City, and Martin.

Barrel racing--Bailey; Hannah Holland, Bucyrus; Mentzer; and Shannon Laclef, Leon.

Breakaway roping--Brandi Hollenbeck, Hutchinson; Whiting; Casey Adams, Junction City; and Kalie Turley, Modoc.

Bull riding--Kyle Ziegler, Atwood; Cody Hunsperger, Yates Center; David Mainus, Colby; and Dillon Adolph, Manhattan.

Qualifying for nationals at the state competition for small bore shooting were Kelby Mestagh, McLouth; Perry: Rachel Schultz, Eureka; and Austin Randolph, Anthony. The national finals qualifiers for trap shooting are Deges; Garrett Mercer, Columbus; Mestagh; and Perry.

Date: 7/16/2012

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives