Malatya Haber Iowa Pork to hold annual Taste of Elegance
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Iowa Pork to hold annual Taste of Elegance



The Iowa Pork Producers Association Restaurant and Foodservice Committee will hold its annual Iowa Pork Taste of Elegance on Jan. 23 at the downtown Des Moines Marriott.

Eleven of Iowa's top chefs will put their best original pork entrees on the line for the right to be named Chef Par Excellence in this exciting and elegant culinary competition. The goal of the contest is to inspire new and innovative ways to menu pork at the state's best restaurants.

A visiting chef from Manitoba, Canada, also is competing, but only for the People's Choice Award.

A panel of three food industry professionals will taste and critique each entrée. The winners of the competition will be selected on the taste, originality and presentation of their entrée.

In addition to Chef Par Excellence, the 2nd and 3rd place chefs will receive Superior Chef and Premier Chef honors. Cash prizes will be awarded to the top three chefs and the winner will be invited to compete in the national Taste of Elegance contest in the spring. At the conclusion of the event, one of the chefs will receive the People's Choice Award, which is decided by the invited guests.

The Iowa Pork Taste of Elegance reception is an invitation-only event, but anyone is welcome to attend. Interested persons can contact IPPA's Alison Swanson at 800-372-7675. The event is semi-formal and invited guests can enjoy samples of the various pork entrees, hors d'oeuvres and fine wines from six Iowa wineries.

The 2012 Iowa Pork Taste of Elegance reception will begin at 6:30 p.m. and is being emceed by WHO Radio's Bob Quinn.

The competition is open to any restaurant or chef in the state.

The 2012 contestants are: Chef Aaron King, Dos Rios/Big City Burgers & Greens/Catering DSM, Des Moines;; Chef Patricia Weidner, Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino, Altoona; Chef Rick Beaulieu, Bev's On The River, Sioux City; Chef Jon Nelson, Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque; Chef Ephraim Malag, Tournament Club of Iowa, Polk City; Chef Rob Thomas, Manitoba; Chef Justin Scardina, La Rana Bistro, Decorah; Chef Andrew James Weis, Caroline's Restaurant/Hotel Julian, Dubuque; Chef Bryan Manning, Hotel Fort Des Moines/Raccoon River Brewing Co., Des Moines; Chef Robert Day, The Faithful Pilot Café & Spirits, Le Claire; Chef Henry Rodriguez, Otis & Henry's Bar & Grill, Waterloo; and Chef Daniel Ankrum, Art House Café, Waterloo.


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives