0113BeefIndustryCouncilElec.cfm Malatya Haber Iowa Beef Industry Council elects 2012 officers
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Iowa Beef Industry Council elects 2012 officers


Elaine Utesch, cow-calf producer and cattle feeder from Correctionville, was elected chairman of the Iowa Beef Industry Council at the January board meeting. Utesch will lead the group of cattle producers who oversee the Iowa beef checkoff program.

Scott Niess, Osage, will serve as vice-chairman with Roger Brummett, Bedford, as secretary and Daryl Strohbehn, Boone, as treasurer. Scott Heater, seedstock and cow-calf producer from Wapello, was seated as a new director on the Iowa Beef Industry Council. Elected at the IBIC annual meeting in December, Heater will serve a three-year term.

Other members serving on the IBIC Executive Committee are Bill Northey, Iowa secretary of agriculture; Wendy Wintersteen, dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Iowa State University; and Justin Gibson, Lamoni, representing the Iowa Livestock Market Association.

Eight cattle producers appointed to one-year terms include Nancy Couser, Nevada; Steve Rehder, Hawarden; Ed Greiman, Garner; Dan Cook, New Providence; Terri Carstensen, Odebolt; Scott McGregor, Nashua; Tom Hotz, Lone Tree; and Helen Wiese, Manning. Retiring IBIC directors include Bob Henderson, Albia, and Ken Birker, Vinton.

Iowa has four producers serving on the Cattlemen's Beef Board: Will Frazee, Emerson; Kent Pruismann, Rock Valley; Dean Black, Somers and Jeff Clausen, Carson.

Cattle producers who represent Iowa on national beef promotion committees serve in leadership positions. Terri Carstensen, Odebolt, chairs the Advertising Committee and serves as Region III vice-president of the Federation of State Beef Councils; Jeff Clausen, Carson, a Beef Board member, chairs the Beef Safety Committee; and Scott McGregor, Nashua, chairs the Foodservice Committee. Will Frazee, Emerson, serves on the Executive Committee of the Cattlemen's Beef Board.

The Iowa Beef Industry Council administers the Iowa portion of the national beef checkoff. The 2011-2012 Iowa budget will invest about $1.7 million in state and national beef promotion, research, consumer information, and industry information programs. In addition, Iowa forwards approximately $1.7 million to the National Cattlemen's Beef Board for national beef promotion programs to market beef domestically and internationally. For more information, contact the Iowa Beef Industry Council at 515-296-2305, or visit www.iabeef.org.

Cattle producers from these counties serving on the Iowa Beef Industry Council: Boone, Daryl Strohbehn, Boone, treasurer; Carroll, Helen Wiese, Manning; Chickasaw, Scott McGregor, Nashua; Hancock, Ed Greiman, Garner; Hardin, Dan Cook, New Providence; Johnson, Tom Hotz, Lone Tree; Louisa, Scott Heater, Wapello, elected director; Mitchell, Scott Niess, Osage, vice-chair; Sac, Terri Carstensen, Odebolt; Sioux, Steve Rehder, Hawarden; Story, Nancy Couser, Nevada; Taylor, Roger Brummett, Bedford, secretary; and Woodbury, Elaine Utesch, Correctionville, chairman. Producers representing Iowa on the Cattlemen's Beef Board: Calhoun, Dean Black, Somers; Mills-Montgomery, Will Frazee, Emerson; Pottawattamie, Jeff Clausen, Carson; and Sioux, Kent Pruismann, Rock Valley.

Producers serving on the Federation of State Beef Councils: Carroll, Helen Wiese, Manning; Chickasaw, Scott McGregor, Nashua; Johnson, Tom Hotz, Lone Tree; Sac, Terri Carstensen, Odebolt; and Woodbury, Elaine Utesch, Correctionville.

Producer-directed and consumer-focused, the Iowa Beef Industry Council is funded by the $1-per-head beef checkoff. Checkoff dollars are invested in beef promotion, consumer information, research, industry information and foreign market development, all with the purpose of strengthening beef demand. For more information, visit www.iabeef.org.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives