1220IowaFBLeaderssr.cfm Malatya Haber New Iowa Farm Bureau leaders elected
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

New Iowa Farm Bureau leaders elected


Joe Heinrich of Maquoketa was re-elected vice president of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation at the organization's 94th annual meeting Dec. 4 to 5 in Des Moines. County delegates also re-elected two district directors to the board. They include Carlton Kjos, District 1, of Decorah and Phil Sundblad, District 3, of Albert City. The board also elected challenger Mark Buskohl of Grundy Center as director of District 5.

Heinrich was voted as vice president of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation in 2011. He served as a member of the IFBF board of directors, representing District 6 in eastern Iowa. He and his family run a dairy and beef cow-calf farm with his nephew. Together, their diversified farm also grows corn, soybeans, oats and hay.

Before Heinrich was elected to the board in 2004, he was active in both county and state Farm Bureau activities, serving as Jackson County president, vice president, voting delegate, young farmer chair and on the state internal study committee. Active in his local church and community, Heinrich also served as Jackson County Dairy Association county president and on the Jackson County Extension Council.

Heinrich is a graduate of Kirkwood Community College. He and his wife, Shelley, have two daughters.

Re-elected board member Kjos represents District 1, which consists of 11 counties in northeast Iowa. He was first elected to the position in 2006. Carlton has served in numerous leadership capacities as a Farm Bureau member, which includes county president, vice president, voting delegate, internal study committee, AFBF voting delegate, PAC committee member, and chairman of the beef advisory committee.

Additionally, Kjos was a member of the Winneshiek County Board of Supervisors and chairman of the Winneshiek County Planning and Zoning Commission. He was a board member of the Oneota Care Facility and served on the board of Spectrum Industries.

Kjos is a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa. He and wife, Cynthia, raise corn, soybeans, alfalfa, oats, and have a cow/calf herd. Their Winneshiek County farm has been in the family since 1862.

Sundblad, who also won re-election, represents District 3, which consists of 12 counties in northwest Iowa. He was first elected to the position in 2000. Before Sundblad was elected to the board in November 2000, he served in many leadership positions for the Buena Vista County Farm Bureau, including president, vice president, voting delegate and treasurer.

Sundblad currently serves as president of a locally-owned wind farm in Palo Alto County -- Crosswind Energy, LLC; chairman of the Food Board for Albert City Threshermen and Collectors; chairman of IOWA AgSTATE and is active in his local church. He and his wife, Brenda, have a corn and soybean operation. They have two children.

Newly-elected District 5 Board member Mark Buskohl represents District 5, which consists of 11 counties in central Iowa. Buskohl and his wife, Nancy, run a diversified cow, cattle, sheep, hay and grain farm near Grundy Center. Active in his local community and church, Buskhol has also served in many Farm Bureau leadership positions including county president, vice president and voting delegate. He most recently served as a member of the state internal study committee.

The IFBF delegates also elected five members to represent Iowa at the 2013 American Farm Bureau Federation convention in Nashville, Tenn. They are Jim Boyer of Ringsted, David Hommel of Eldora, Kevin Krumwiede of Ledyard, Karen Seipold of Hastings and Kyle Holthaus of Waukon.

Guy Petersen of Wyoming (Jones County) was elected to a three-year term on the IFBF internal study committee. Dave Seil of Gowrie (Webster County) was elected to the internal study committee to complete a one-year term vacated by Mark Buskohl. The internal study committee serves as a liaison between the county Farm Bureau voting delegates and the state board of directors.

The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation is a grassroots, statewide organization dedicated to enhancing the People, Progress and Pride of Iowa. More than 153,000 families in Iowa are Farm Bureau members, working together to achieve farm and rural prosperity. For more information about Farm Bureau and agriculture, visit the online media center at www.iowafarmbureau.com.

Date: 12/31/2012

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives