Malatya Haber Scholarships awarded to Kansas youth
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Scholarships awarded to Kansas youth

KLA SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS—Pictured are (back row, left to right) Luke Bellar, Howard; Ira Parsons, Leavenworth; Cody Jensen, Courtland; Trenton Blythe, White City; (front row, left to right) Taylor Harms, Lincolnville; Chandra Devine, Seward; and Karl Clawson, Englewood. Not pictured are Michelle Colgan, Lawrence; Kelsey Schnoebelen, Lewis; Tanner Rayl, Hutchinson; and Garrett Kays, Weir. (Photo courtesy of Kansas Livestock Association.)


Eleven scholarship winners for the 2012-2013 school year were recognized during the annual Kansas Livestock Association Convention Nov. 30 in Wichita. A total of $13,500 will be presented by the Kansas Livestock Foundation.

Luke Bellar has been awarded the $2,500 Cattlemen's Scholarship from GoBob Pipe & Steel and KLF. Bellar is the son of Mike and Peggy Bellar of Howard. He is attending Fort Hays State University, majoring in agribusiness and animal science. In the future, he plans to return to the family operation. This scholarship is presented to a student entering or returning to a Kansas community or senior college, and pursuing a degree in agriculture or a related field.

Michelle Colgan and Kelsey Schnoebelen each has been chosen to receive a $1,500 Ralgro Wheels for Bucks scholarship from Merck Animal Health and KLF. This award recognizes Kansas State University veterinary school students with a career goal of being a large animal veterinarian. Colgan is the daughter of Marilyn Colgan of Lawrence. She is a fourth-year veterinary student and plans to establish her own mixed-animal practice in rural Kansas. Schnoebelen, a second-year veterinary school student, is the daughter of Mica and Sherrie Schnoebelen from Lewis. She intends to work as a veterinarian in a rural practice in Kansas following graduation.

Four Kansas students have been awarded, through KLF, $1,000 Wheels for Bucks Scholarships. Trenton Blythe is the son of Duane Blythe and Debbie Lyons-Blythe from White City. He began the Wildlife and Outdoor Enterprise Management program at Kansas State University this fall. Chandra Devine, daughter of Richard and Laura Devine of Seward, is a junior at Fort Hays State University. Devine currently is majoring in beef cattle management. Taylor Harms is the daughter of Mark and Kim Harms from Lincolnville. She is attending K-State and majoring in ag communications. Ira Parsons, son of Rodney and Amy Parsons from Leavenworth, is a sophomore at Allen County Community College. Parsons is majoring in feed science.

The recipient of the $1,000 Old District 4 Scholarship, administered by KLF, is Carl Clawson. He is the son of David and Jeanne Clawson from Englewood. Clawson is a freshman majoring in agriculture business at K-State. This scholarship is awarded to a student whose home is in Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ford, Gray, Hodgeman, Kiowa, Meade, Ness or Pawnee County who attends a Kansas college and is pursuing a degree in agriculture or a related field.

The $1,000 Glenn & Clyde Lindstrom Scholarship has been awarded through KLF to Tanner Rayl. Rayl is the son of Dennis and Shirley Rayl from Hutchinson. He is a junior at K-State majoring in pre-veterinary medicine. This scholarship is awarded to any student of sophomore level or above attending a Kansas junior or senior college and pursuing a degree in agriculture. Preference is given to students residing within the boundaries of Unified School District 400 in northern McPherson and southern Saline counties.

Cody Jensen and Garrett Kays each has been selected to receive a $1,000 "Youth in Agriculture" scholarship from KLF. Jensen is the son of Kirk and Stephanie Jensen from Courtland. He is a sophomore at Butler Community College majoring in animal science. Kays is the son of Kelly and Connie Kays from Weir. He is attending K-State and majoring in agribusiness. Funded by the KLF Club Calf Sale held during the Kansas Junior Livestock Show, these scholarships also recognize students entering or returning to a Kansas junior or senior college and pursing a degree in agriculture or a related field.

KLF was established in 1983 to operate solely and exclusively for charitable, scientific and educational purposes. For information about KLF scholarship opportunities or to receive an application, contact the foundation at 6031 S.W. 37th St., Topeka, KS 66614 or email

KLA is a trade organization protecting the business interests of independent ranchers and feeders. Members of the association are involved in all segments of the livestock industry, including cow-calf production, backgrounding, cattle feeding, swine, dairy and sheep.

Date: 12/31/2012


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives