1127ASABoardDirectorssr.cfm Malatya Haber ASA elects board of directors, announces awards
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

ASA elects board of directors, announces awards

Members of the American Shorthorn Association gathered Nov. 9 to 12 for the ASA Annual Meeting and National Show held in conjunction with the North American International Livestock Exposition in Louisville, Ky.

Among the first order of business at the annual meeting was the election of board of directors. Ed Kruse of Kimball, Neb., and James Freed of Chickasha, Okla., were two members elected to the ASA Board of Directors for a three-year term. Mike Bennett of Ducor, Calif., was re-elected to the board for a second term and also elected to serve as the Vice President of the ASA. Other returning board members include: Les Mathers, Mason City, Ill., president; Ricky Guidry, Bell City, La., executive director; Billy Zack Taylor, Salem, Ky., director; Lynn Nelson, Albert Lea, Minn.; Mark Gordon, Middletown, Ill., director; and Marty Loving, Pawnee Rock, Kan., director.

Two retiring ASA board members were recognized during the National Shorthorn Show on Nov. 12. Boyd Strope of O'Neil, Neb., and Virginia Davis of Franklin, Ind., were recognized for their dedicated service to the ASA from 2006-2012.

One of the most prestigious awards announced every year during the National Show and Annual Meeting is the Herdsman of the Year award. A trophy belt buckle is presented to the winner in memory of Lawrence Grathwohl. Jess Recknor of Cyclone Trace Cattle Company in Clarion, Iowa, was voted this year's recipient by fellow Shorthorn breeders.

The Century Club award was also announced during the National Show between the bull and female shows. The award recognizes breeders who have registered over 100 head of Shorthorns in the past year.

The following breeders were recognized for their achievement: Loving Polled Shorthorns, Pawnee Rock, Kan.; Sullivan Cattle Company, Dunlap, Iowa; WHR Shorthorns, Van Alstyne, Texas; Jungels Shorthorn Farm, Kathryn, N.D.; Byland, Loudonville, Ohio; EA-RA-BA-H Farm, Liberty, N.C.; Peak View Ranch, Inc., Fowler, Colo.; Sneed Shorthorns, Sedalia, Mo.; J. Phillip Bowman & Family, Greens Fork, Ind.; Keith H. Lauer, Abilene, Kan.; Cyclone Trace Cattle Company, Clarion, Iowa; JDMC Cattle Company, Renville, Minn.; Hugh W. Moore, Jr. & Sons, Jerseyville, Ill.; and Martindell Shorthorns, Hardyville, Ky.

For more coverage on the ASA National Show & Annual Meeting, visit www.shorthorn.org.

Date: 12/17/2012

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives