1222LucasNamesHouseAgCommit.cfm Lucas announces new House Ag Committee
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Lucas announces new House Ag Committee

Chairman-elect Frank Lucas (R-OK) named six members to serve as subcommittee chairmen of the House Agriculture Committee Dec. 21. He also released a complete list of the Republican roster for the 112th Congress and named Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) as vice chairman of the full committee.

"Our subcommittee chairmen have demonstrated a commitment to ensuring the success of American agriculture and rural economies. They are ready to join me in addressing the challenges that farmers, ranchers, and small businesses face across rural America. The next year will be an exercise in educating our freshmen members on both sides of the aisle, providing oversight of the administration and building a strong working relationship as we prepare to reauthorize the farm bill in 2012," said Lucas.

Lucas designated the following Subcommittee Chairmen and their jurisdictions (listed alphabetically by subcommittee name):

--Rep. Glenn "GT" Thompson (PA-5), Conservation, Energy, and Forestry.

Jurisdiction: Soil, water, and resource conservation, small watershed program, energy and bio-based energy production, rural electrification, forestry in general and forest reserves other than those created from the public domain.

--Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1), Department Operations, Oversight, and Credit.

Jurisdiction: Agency oversight, review and analysis, special investigations, and agricultural credit.

--Rep. K. Michael Conaway, (TX-11), General Farm Commodities and Risk Management.

Jurisdiction: Program and markets related to cotton, cottonseed, wheat, feed grains, soybeans, oilseeds, rice, dry beans, peas, lentils, the Commodity Credit Corporation, risk management, including crop insurance, commodity exchanges, and specialty crops.

--Rep. Tom Rooney (FL-16), Livestock, Dairy, and Poultry.

Jurisdiction: Livestock, dairy, poultry, meat, seafood and seafood products, inspection, marketing, and promotion of such commodities, aquaculture, animal welfare, and grazing.

--Rep. Jean Schmidt (OH-2), Nutrition and Horticulture.

Jurisdiction: Food stamps, nutrition and consumer programs, fruits and vegetables, honey and bees, marketing and promotion orders, plant pesticides, quarantine, adulteration of seeds and insect pests, and organic agriculture.

--Rep. Timothy V. Johnson (IL-15), Rural Development, Research, Biotechnology, and Foreign Agriculture.

Jurisdiction: Rural Development, farm security and family farming matters, biotechnology, foreign agriculture assistance, and trade promotion programs, generally.

Republican members of the agriculture committee are Chairman-elect Frank D. Lucas (OK), Vice Chairman-elect Bob Goodlatte (VA), Timothy V. Johnson (IL), Steve King (IA), Randy Neugebauer (TX), K. Michael Conaway (TX), Jeff Fortenberry (NE), Jean Schmidt (OH), Glenn Thompson (PA), and Tom Rooney (FL). New members include Rick Crawford (AR), Scott DesJarlais (TN), Renee Elmers (NC), Stephen Fincher (TN), Bob Gibbs (OH), Chris Gibson (NY), Vicky Hartzler (MO), Tim Huelskamp (KS), Randy Hultgren (IL), Reid Ribble (WI), Martha Roby (AL), Bobby Schilling (IL), Austin Scott (GA), Steve Southerland (FL), Marlin Stutzman (IN), and Scott Tipton (CO).

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives