Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

USDA declares counties as disaster areas


Gov. Sam Brownback received notice from the U.S. Department of Agriculture it has designated four Kansas counties as primary natural disaster areas because of losses caused by the combined effects of excessive rain, excessive heat and drought during the period of April 23 through Nov. 1, 2010. Those counties are Coffey, Osage, Shawnee and Wabaunsee counties.

The USDA also named Allen, Anderson, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Jackson, Jefferson, Lyon, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, and Woodson Counties as contiguous disaster counties.

This designation makes farm operators in these counties eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency, provided they meet eligibility requirements. Such assistance includes FSA emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives