0120NAWGWheatLeaderoftheYea.cfm NAWG names Wheat Leader of the Year
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

NAWG names Wheat Leader of the Year


Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) is the recipient of the National Association of Wheat Growers' 2010 Wheat Leader of the Year Award, the wheat industry's highest public service award.

Murray was nominated by her home state's grower association because of her history of providing leadership in the areas of agricultural research funding; her support for farm bill programs and trade agreements; and her advocacy on behalf of funding to improve the Columbia and Snake River systems.

"I am pleased to be able to present this award to Sen. Murray," said Jerry McReynolds, NAWG president and a wheat producer from Woodston, Kan. "We need champions in Congress like Sen. Murray to lead and help educate new members who are coming in and may not know the value agriculture research and transportation infrastructure contribute to a successful farm economy."

Murray's nomination was approved by the NAWG Domestic and Trade Policy Committee and the NAWG Board of Directors. A member of Murray's staff accepted her award on her behalf at an awards dinner held as part of the ongoing Wheat Industry Winter Conference in Washington, D.C.

"Sen. Murray has been a friend of Washington wheat for many years, and we're proud to see her efforts recognized nationally," said Brett Blankenship, past president of the Washington Association of Wheat Growers and a producer from Adams County, Wash.

The Wheat Leader of the Year Award is given annually by NAWG to one Member of Congress based on his or her demonstrated commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry.

Previous Wheat Leaders include Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN); Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT); Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (D-SD); Rep. Jo Ann Emerson (R-MO) ; Rep. Jerry Moran (R-KS); Sen. Conrad Burns (R-MT); Rep. Larry Combest (R-TX); Rep. George Nethercutt (R-WA); and Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS).

Representatives from NAWG member-states will also be distributing other public service awards given by NAWG on behalf of the wheat industry as they visit Capitol Hill offices this week.

The Wheat Advocate Award is given annually to Members of Congress who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm.

Those receiving 2010 Wheat Advocate awards include: Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Sen. Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), Rep. Tim Holden (D-PA), Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK), Rep. Jerry Moran (R-KS), and Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN).

The Friend of Wheat Award is given annually by NAWG for superior action in support of the goals and policies of the wheat industry. This award is given to Congressional and administrative staff members who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm.

The 2010 Friend of Wheat Awards are being awarded to: Sarah Bittleman, USDA Office of the Secretary; Jake Kuhns, Rep. Tim Holden (D-PA); Carrie Meadows, Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA); Riley Scott, Sen. Sam Brownback (R-KS); Mike Seyfert, Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS); Anne Simmons, House Agriculture Committee; Kay Simmons, USDA's Agricultural Research Service; and Dave White, USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service. Awards that couldn't be delivered to winners during the week's activities in Washington will be presented to members and staff in the coming weeks.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives