Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

South Dakota processor named bison association 'member of the year'


Bruce Anderson of Rapid City, S.D., was honored as the National Bison Association's Member of the Year at the association's recent annual conference in recognition of his leadership in promoting bison meat and in expanding production across the country.

Anderson is one of the pioneers in the commercial buffalo business, with more than 30 years of experience in production, processing and marketing. He has owned and operated Western Buffalo Co. in Rapid City since 1979 and is the largest state-inspected processor of bison meat in the United States.

Anderson serves as the chair of the National Bison Association's Commercial Marketers' Committee, which represents processors and marketers of all sizes. As chair of that committee, Anderson helped develop and implement the association's voluntary checkoff program, which generated nearly $50,000 in contributions last year to promote the sales and production of buffalo.

He has been active in the organization's public policy activities and has traveled to Washington, D.C., to meet with lawmakers and regulators on issues important to the bison business.

A strong proponent of cooperation among buffalo associations at all levels, Anderson currently serves as president of the Dakota Territories Buffalo Association. He was a leader in organizing a recent meeting in Las Vegas, Nev., to bring together leaders from the National Bison Association and state and regional bison associations to discuss opportunities to coordinate efforts to represent the industry.

Members of the Year are nominated from among the membership of the National Bison Association, and the winner is selected by the group's Past Presidents' Committee.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives