1119TPPBannounceselectionsk.cfm Texas Peanut Producers Board announces biennial elections
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Texas Peanut Producers Board announces biennial elections


The Texas Peanut Producers Board will be holding an election for four expiring directors' seats. The election will be held from Jan. 9 to 23, 2010, with the nomination process opening Nov. 23.

There are three seats open for election in voting region One, which consists of Andrews, Bailey, Brewster, Castro, Cochran, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Ector, El Paso, Gaines, Glasscock, Hale, Hartley, Hockley, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Lamb, Loving, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Moore, Oldham, Parmer, Pecos, Potter, Presidio, Randall, Reagan, Reeves, Sherman, Swisher, Terrell, Terry, Upton, Val Verde, Ward, Winkler, and Yoakum counties.

There is one seat open for election of an at large TPPB board director. The at large director may be from any of the 254 counties in Texas, as long as they meet the requirements below.

A person is eligible to vote in this board election if he or she is currently a producer of peanuts, or for at least one production period during the three years preceding the date of this election (Jan. 23, 2010), has been a producer of peanuts or has caused peanuts to be produced for commercial purposes. This includes owners of farms and their tenants or sharecroppers that pay the peanut assessment. Any person qualified to vote is also qualified to seek nomination for election to the board as a director. Qualified persons voting for a seat in voting region one, must reside in voting region one, however any qualified producer may vote for an at large nominee without the region of residence being factor. Nomination applications must be submitted to TPPB, and signed by the applicant and 10 other eligible voters. Nominations will be available at peanut buying point locations and county agent offices in all 254 Texas counties, or they can be requested by mail directly from TPPB at 4205 N. I-27, Lubbock, Texas 79403. If you request a nomination form by mail from TPPB, please include your county of residence.

Nomination forms will be publicly available Nov. 23. For a nomination form to be valid, it must be filed or delivered to TPPB, 4205 N. I-27, Lubbock, Texas, 79403, no later than Dec. 24.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives