0105USDAfruitboardko.cfm Vilsack names members to Fruit and Vegetable Industry Advisory Committee
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Vilsack names members to Fruit and Vegetable Industry Advisory Committee

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack Jan. 4 announced the names of members of the new Fruit and Vegetable Industry Advisory Committee.

The 25 members were selected from individuals nominated by their peers. Committee members represent fresh fruit and vegetable growers/shippers, fresh fruit and vegetable wholesalers, retailers, industry trade associations, importers, fruit and vegetable processors, foodservice suppliers, fresh-cut processors, brokers and state departments of agriculture. Each member is appointed to a two-year term.

Originally chartered in 2001, the advisory committee advises the Secretary of Agriculture on issues affecting the fruit and vegetable industry. In May 2009, USDA approved a new two-year charter for this committee.

In the coming weeks, USDA will schedule the committee's first meeting for 2010 in the Washington, D.C. area. More information about the meeting will be published in the Federal Register and at www.ams.usda.gov/fv. Information can also be obtained by e-mailing mrobert.keeney@usda.gov or calling 202-720-4722.

The Federal Advisory Committee Act of 1972 provides for the establishment and operation of advisory committees within the executive branch of the federal government.

USDA's Fruit and Vegetable Industry Advisory Committee Members, 2009-2010:

Andrea Caroe, EarthClaims LLC, California;

Lorna Christie, Produce Marketing Association, Delaware; Jeremy Gillam, Gillam Farms, Arkansas; Alan Hardison, Jacobs Farm/Del Cabo, California; Michael Hollister, Driscoll Strawberry Associates, California; Edwin Kee, DE Department of Agriculture, Delaware; Beth Ann Knorr, Countrywide Conservancy, Ohio; Vaughn Koligian, Sun-Maid Growers of California, California; Tom Lovelace, McEntire Produce, South Carolina; Lisa McNeece, Grimmway Enterprises Inc., California; Guy Moore, Larriland Farms, Maryland; Paul Newman, First Fruits Marketing, Washington; Robert Nolan, Deer Run Farms LLC, New York; Dianne Nury, Vie-Del Company, California; Michael O'Brien, Schnuck Markets, Missouri; Russell Poore, Poore's Nursery and Farm, Kentucky; Howard Popoola, Topco Inc., Illinois; Brent Roggie, National Grape Coop Association, New York; William "Gee" Roe III, W.G. Roe & Sons Inc., Florida; William Smittcamp, Wawona Frozen Foods, California; J. Allen Swann, Swann Farms, Maryland; Maureen Torrey, Torrey Farms, New York; Oscar Vizcarra, Becker Farms, New York; Jennifer "Jin Ju" Wilder, Coast Produce, California; Rebecca Wilson, Tom Lange Company, Illinois.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives