Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Angus Juniors Elect new NJAA Board of Directors

The 2010-2011 National Junior Angus Association Board of Directors was announced the evening of July 16 during closing ceremonies at the 2010 National Junior Angus Show in Denver, Colo.

NJAA voting delegates elected six new directors including: Austin Brandt, Iowa; Shane Clary, Va.; Lindsey Grimes, Ohio; Garrett Knebel, Ind.; Alisha Nord, Minn.; and Clay Williams, Ga.

Austin Brandt, Corning, Iowa, was the 2008 Iowa Junior Angus Association president and has participated in multiple contests at the national level. He is the son of Kirk and Lynn Brandt and is pursuing a career in agriculture by farming and working with his family's cattle operation.

Shane Clary, Brodnax, Va., is the son of Randy and Susan Clary. He serves as president of his state junior Angus association and credits his leadership and communications skills to his involvement in the NJAA. Clary is enrolled at Christopher Newport University, where he is majoring in biology with plans to become a veterinarian.

Lindsey Grimes, Hillsboro, Ohio, has served as vice president and has represented Ohio as its Angus queen, in addition to serving on numerous committees. She is the daughter of John and Joan Grimes and is a sophomore at Ohio State University, where she is pursuing a major in animal science and a minor in agribusiness.

Garrett Knebel, Winamac, Ind., is the son of Dan and Jenny Knebel. He has served as president of the Indiana Junior Angus Association for two years and has participated in countless contests at the NJAS. Knebel will be a junior at Oklahoma State University, where he is working toward degrees in animal science and agricultural business.

Alisha Nord, Wolverton, Minn., has served as vice president of the Minnesota Junior Angus Association and as 2006 Minnesota Angus Queen. The daughter of Robert and Amber Nord is a junior at North Dakota State University, where she is pursuing a degree in agricultural communications, with a minor in animal science and Extension education.

Clay Williams, Bishop, Ga., is the son of David and Connie Williams. He served as president of the Georgia Junior Angus Association last year and played an integral role in hosting the 2009 NJAS. Williams will be a freshman this fall at the University of Georgia, where he plans to major in agribusiness.

Board members entering their second year were elected to officer positions. Britney Creamer, Montrose, Colo., was named chairperson; Cody Smith, West Plains, Mo., was named vice chairman; Clinton Laflin, Olsburg, Kan., communications director; Jennifer Ann Smith, Elysian Fields, Texas, Foundation director; Danielle Foster, Niles, Mich., leadership director; and Jaclyn Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa., membership director.

Board members ending their terms on the junior Board included:

Kirbe Schnoor, Chowchilla, Calif.; Christopher Cassady, Ancona, Ill.; Lindsay Waugh, Goodhue, Minn.; Robert Myers, Yamhill, Ore.; Andrew Rogen, Brandon, S.D.; and Ashlyn Carter, Noblesville, Ind.

"The National Junior Angus Association Board has had such a rich history of youth leadership," says Robin Ruff, American Angus Association director of junior activities. "I'm proud of the work the outgoing six junior directors have done during their time on the Board, and I'm looking forward to beginning another year with an eager group of well-rounded young leaders."

NJAS closing ceremonies also included the announcement of several awards and placings, including all winners of NJAS contests; Gold Awards; the Crystal Award; and Auxiliary, CAB/NJAA and Angus Foundation scholarships.

Visit www.angus.org for more information. Show results from the weeklong event are available, as well as backdrop and candid photos, and videos.

These 12 individuals will serve as the National Junior Angus Association Board of Directors for the coming year, and were announced at the 2010 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) Awards Ceremony, July 16 in Denver, Colo.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives