0319NebAgriculturePosterCon.cfm 'Nebraska Agriculture: Thank A Farmer' Poster Contest Winners named
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

'Nebraska Agriculture: Thank A Farmer' Poster Contest Winners named


As part of Nebraska's celebration of National Ag Week, Governor Dave Heineman and Nebraska Department of Agriculture Director Greg Ibach announced the winners of the 2010 NDA poster contest.

In its seventh year, the contest generated 1,341 entries from first through sixth grade students from across Nebraska. This year's theme was: "Nebraska Agriculture: Thank a Farmer."

"Each year, this contest provides Nebraska students time to reflect on what agriculture means to them in their day-to-day lives, helping them better understand the importance of the agricultural industry to our state. The quality of the entries again this year was tremendous," said Ibach. "I would like to congratulate the winners and the teachers who chose to help their students understand that milk comes from the farm, not the grocery store. We all need to continue educating our youth about the agricultural industry."

The winners are:

First and second grade--first place, Haley Luczynski , Holy Ghost, Omaha; second place, Keily Hein, Holy Ghost, Omaha; third place, Carter Schnoor, Randolph Public School, Randolph; and Governor's Choice Award, Brody Arrants, Knickrehm Elementary, Grand Island.

Third and fourth grade--first place, Justin Kaczmarek, Holy Ghost, Omaha; second place, Christian Riha, Holy Ghost, Omaha; third place, Joy Widenhamer, Ackerman Elementary, Omaha; and Governor's Choice Award, Brianna Hupp, St. Boniface, Elgin.

Fifth and sixth grade--first place, Kayla Allen, Holy Ghost, Omaha; second place, MaKrae Kelly, Pender Public Schools, Pender; third place, Sandy Barrera, Knickrehm Elementary, Grand Island; and Governor's Choice Award, Harrison Hallowell, Ackermah Elementary, Omaha.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives