0812ODAoilseedcommissionko.cfm State oilseed producers sought to serve on new commission
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

State oilseed producers sought to serve on new commission


Nominations are sought for a new five-member commission to represent and promote Oklahoma oilseed production. The Oklahoma Oilseed Commission was authorized by the state legislature and the election is being conducted through the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry.

"It is of the utmost importance that the charter directors elected to this commission be the very best candidates possible," said State Secretary of Agriculture Terry Peach. "They will be the producers who will actually bring the commission into existence and make the decisions that ensure it succeeds in improving the industry and adds value to our oilseed production."

Much like other producer-funded industry commissions, the Oklahoma Oilseed Commission will collect an assessment from producers to fund research, market development, education, and enhance oilseed production. The assessment will be determined by commission directors after the election ends on Oct. 2.

Nomination forms are available from the ODAFF, OSU County Extension offices, and many grain elevators and co-ops.

Voters in District 1 will elect one director to serve a two-year term. This district consists of Cimarron, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Woodward, Ellis, Dewey, Roger Mills and Custer counties.

District 2 will elect one director to serve a three-year term from one of the following counties: Beckham, Washita, Caddo, Grady, Greer, Kiowa, Comanche, Harmon, Jackson, or Tillman.

District 3 will elect one person for a four-year term from one of the following counties: Woods, Alfalfa, Major, Blaine, Kingfisher, Canadian, Grant, Kay, Garfield, Noble, Logan, Payne, Oklahoma, or Lincoln.

District 4 will elect a director for an initial five-year term from one of the following counties: Osage, Washington, Nowata, Craig, Ottawa, Pawnee, Rogers, Mayes, Delaware, Creek, Tulsa, Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Muskogee, Sequoyah or McIntosh.

Voters in District 5 will elect a director for an initial term of six years from one or the following counties: Cleveland, Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes, Pittsburg, Haskell, LeFlore, Stephens, Jefferson, McClain, Garvin, Murray, Carter, Love, Pontotoc, Johnston, Marshall, Coal, Atoka, Bryan, Latimer, Pushmataha, Choctaw and McCurtain.

For more information, contact Glen Schickedanz at 800-580-6543 or by e-mail at glen.schickedanz@oda.state.ok.us. Mailing address is: Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Attn: Glen Schickedanz, P.O. Box 528804, Oklahoma City, OK 73152-8804.

More information is also available online at www.oda.state.ok.us.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives