NebraskaWheatBoardannounces.cfm Nebraska Wheat Board announces directorship appointment openings
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Nebraska Wheat Board announces directorship appointment openings


Two directorships to the Nebraska Wheat Development, Utilization and Marketing Board are open for appointment by Governor Dave Heineman. The terms for members representing Districts 1 and 6 will expire June 30, 2009. The filing deadline is no later than 5 p.m., June 1, 2009.

District 1 represents the counties of Box Butte, Dawes, Garden, Morrill, Scottsbluff, Sheridan and Sioux. (Chris Cullan of Hemingford, the current District 1 director, has indicated he will pursue reappointment.)

District 6 represents the counties of Adams, Antelope, Blaine, Boone, Boyd, Brown, Burt, Butler, Cass, Cedar, Clay, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Gage, Garfield, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Holt, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Keya Paha, Knox, Lancaster, Loup, Madison, Merrick, Nance, Nemaha, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Richardson, Rock, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Seward, Sherman, Stanton, Thayer, Thurston, Valley, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, and York. (Delferd Schlake of Blue Springs, the current District 6 director, has indicated he will pursue reappointment.)

Any wheat producer interested in appointment may submit an application to the Governor's Office for consideration. To obtain an application, interested producers can write to Peggy King, Staff Assistant for Boards and Commissions, Nebraska Governor's Office, State Capitol, Box 94848, Lincoln, NE 68509-4848, phone 402-471-1971; or by writing the Nebraska Wheat Board, P.O. Box 94912, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509; phone 402-471-2358; e-mail Candidates may also submit an application online at

Qualified candidates include those who are citizens of Nebraska, are at least 21 years of age, have been actively engaged in growing wheat in Nebraska for a period of at least five years, reside in a county in their respective district and derive a substantial portion of income from producing wheat. Seven wheat producers comprise the Nebraska Wheat Board and serve terms of five years. The Nebraska Wheat Board administers the one and one quarter cent per bushel excise tax levied on wheat marketed in Nebraska. The Board invests the funds in programs of international and domestic market development and improvement, policy development, research, promotion and education.


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives