Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

New Video's 03/13/2014
Cattlemen's Video Center

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by jJane

"Thanks for sharing this story!"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Texas A&M livestock, wool judging teams end season with Houston wins


The Texas A&M University livestock and wool judging teams ended the spring competitions recently with wins at the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo.

The Houston show, one of the largest of its kind in the U.S., draws competitors from universities around the nation.

Texas A&M took first place with 4,791 points, edging out runner-up Oklahoma State University's 4,712 points. Rounding out the top five were Texas Tech University, the University of Western Illinois and Iowa State University.

Jacob Thorne of Winters, Calif., led the Aggies individually, finishing in third place. Ryan Malone of Abingdon, Ill., finished in fourth place and Jesse Beckett, also of Winters, finished in 10th place.

In the alternate division, the Aggies had six of the top 10 individual scores. Dustin Keith of Lincoln took first; Jay Behrens of Voca, third; Brendon Benson of Winters, fourth; Aaron Jennings of Fredonia, fifth; and John Avellar of Winters, sixth.

Other team members are Chris Cassady of Ancona, Ill.; Kobey Davis of Willis; Joelynn Donough of Manheim, Penn.; Katie Fields of Mount Pleasant; Brandon Freel of Washington, Iowa; Kim Hardan of Snohomish, Wash.; Billy Moczygemba of Karnes City; Thor Patton of Silverton; Lindsay Swick of Franklin; and Michelle Walen of Monroe, La.

The team is coached by Dr. Chris Skaggs and graduate students Blake Bloomberg of Berwick, Ill., and Zach Rambo of White City, Ore.

The Aggie Wool Judging teams won first and second place. Texas Tech University finished third, Angelo State University finished fourth, and Kansas State University finished fifth.

Texas A&M had six of the top 10 high-scoring individuals overall. Kelsey Hoegenauer of New Braunfels took first place; Carl Whitworth of Junction, second place; Whitney Walker of Cypress, third place; Emily Earwood of Sonora, fourth place; Mike Helle of Edinburg, seventh place; and Clay Eastwood of New Braunfels, eighth place.

Other members of the two wool teams are Lance Bauer of Harper; Darren Fey of LaVernia; Katie Fritz of Fredericksburg; Henry Hilscher of Shiner; Cassy Hottensen of Katy; Madelyne Mann of San Marcos; Robert Oestreich of New Braunfels; Jessica Steger of Somerville; Kayanne Warzon of Navasota; and Bethanie Yeaman of Rocksprings.

The teams are coached by Dr. Shawn Ramsey and assistant coach Kenton Kirkpatrick, along with graduate students Will Dickison and Carl Muntean, and undergraduate students Greta Monson and Paul Wunderlich.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives