Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

BASF, ASA and NCGA honor award recipients during Commodity Classic

BASF, the American Soybean Association (ASA) and the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) announced the 2009-2010 recipients of scholarships at Commodity Classic in February. The scholarships are awarded to tomorrow's agricultural leaders pursuing a degree in an industry-related field. BASF has made a five-year commitment to each organization to support higher education in agriculture for members' families. This is the second year of the scholarship programs.

"Agricultural education is crucial to moving our industry forward and BASF is committed to helping identify and support the next generation of leaders," said Nevin McDougall, Group Vice President, North America Crop Protection division at BASF. "We are very impressed by the quality and enthusiasm of this year's recipients and honored to help them pursue their dreams of working in agriculture."

The 2009-2010 Secure Optimal Yield (SOY) Scholarship, managed by the ASA and sponsored by BASF, was awarded to Brent Larson, a high-school senior in Canby, Minn., who plans to major in agronomy and minor in agricultural economics and agricultural marketing at South Dakota State University.

"We are very proud to announce Brent as this year's SOY Scholarship winner," said Johnny Dodson, President of the ASA. "He demonstrated exceptional leadership skills, academic excellence and enthusiastic dedication to working in the agriculture industry. Brent will represent the ASA, BASF and our industry well."

The scholarship provides a one-time $5,000 award--$2,500 per semester--for tuition, fees and books.

The NCGA's Academic Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship, also sponsored by BASF, awards five $1,000 scholarships annually to undergraduate and graduate students pursuing careers in the agriculture industry.

NCGA Chairman Ron Litterer announced the winners of this year's NCGA Academic Excellence in Agriculture scholarship during the Commodity Classic:

--Rita Cook, a senior at Iowa State University majoring in agricultural business with a minor in public service and administration in agriculture and economics.

--Alex Coughlin, a junior at South Dakota State University majoring in agricultural business with a minor in agricultural marketing.

--Elias Klokkenga, a sophomore at the University of Illinois majoring in agricultural and consumer economics with a concentration in agribusiness, markets and management.

--Michael Sukalski, a sophomore at South Dakota State University majoring in agricultural and biosystems engineering with a minor in accounting and business management.

--Emily Treu, a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin-Madison double majoring in agricultural education and agricultural journalism.

"The NCGA is committed to creating and increasing educational opportunities for students who are pursuing a career in agriculture," Litterer said. "Each of this year's winners is exceptionally smart, hardworking and motivated. They are an excellent example of the reason why the future of our industry is so bright."

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives