Ibachannouncespostercontest.cfm Ibach announces poster contest winners
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Ibach announces poster contest winners

"Nebraska Agriculture: Growing the Good Life" poster contest part of National Ag week celebration


As part of Nebraska's celebration of National Ag Week, Nebraska Department of Agriculture Director Greg Ibach announced the winners of the 2009 NDA poster contest.

In its sixth year, the contest generated 1,072 entries from first through sixth grade students from all across Nebraska. This year's theme was: "Nebraska Agriculture: Growing the Good Life."

"We are excited to see the wonderful artwork each year. The contest allows the students to think about agriculture and how it affects their daily lives, in turn, helping them better understand the importance of the agricultural industry to our state," said Ibach. "I would like to congratulate all of the winners. I would also like to thank the many teachers who chose to teach their students that milk comes from the farm, not the grocery store. We need to keep educating our youth to ensure a better future for our industry."

The winners are:

1st and 2nd grade:

1st Place--Cali Lech from St. Mary's in Ord.

2nd Place--Trevor Mensch from St. Bonaventure in Columbus.

3rd Place--Kalen Dockwiler from Callaway Public School in Callaway.

Governor's Choice Award--Malori Grabast from South School in Superior.

3rd and 4th grade:

1st Place--Ali Lorensen from Pender Public in Pender.

2nd Place--Tanner Chilewski from Arcadia Public in Arcadia.

3rd Place--Ashley Carson from St. Mary's in Ord.

Governor's Choice Award--Eric Rohde from Alcott Elementary in Hastings.

5th and 6th grade:

1st Place--William Nabity from Knickrehm Elementary in Grand Island.

2nd Place--Megan Gifford from Heritage Christian Academy in Gering.

3rd Place--Stephanie Matal from Knickrehm Elementary in Grand Island.

Governor's Choice Award--Diego Martinez from Knickrehm Elementary in Grand Island.

The winning posters can be viewed at the NDA website at www.agr.ne.gov.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives